William E. Sudow, Virginia, Chair (elected by Board in Nov., 1-year term), 2023
Thorn Pozen, Washington, DC, Vice-Chair (elected by Board in Nov., 1-year term), 2023

Maryland members appointed by Governor to 6-year terms: Mamie W. Mallory, 2024; Timothy F. Poole, 2026; Mark E. Uncapher, Esq., 2028.

John E. (Jack) Potter, President & Chief Executive Officer
Chryssa L. Westerlund, Executive Vice-President & Chief Revenue Officer

1 Aviation Circle, Washington, DC 20001 - 6000
(703) 417-8600


The Metropolitan Washington Airports Authority was created in 1986 by District of Columbia and Virginia laws. An independent regional body, the Authority operates Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (formerly Washington National Airport) and Washington Dulles International Airport. Previously, both airports were run by the Federal Aviation Administration of the U.S. Department of Transportation. Now, the airports are operated under a 50-year lease between the U.S. Department of Transportation and the Metropolitan Washington Airports Authority (P.L. 99-500, Title VI).

Running a two-year airport system that provides domestic and international air service for the mid-Atlantic region, the Authority is responsible for capital improvements at both airports. Its organization involves central administration, airports management and operations, and coordination of assistance from police and fire departments.

Further, in 2006, the Commonwealth of Virginia and the Authority signed a Memorandum of Understanding allowing the Authority to operate and improve the Dulles Toll Road and build the Silver Line Metrorail extension. Since November 2008, the Authority has operated and maintained the Dulles Toll Road, and, since March 2009, is responsible for funding and constructing the Dulles Corridor Metrorail Project (Silver Line), a 23-mile segment of the Metrorail System extending to Dulles International Airport and Loudon County in Virginia.

Self-supporting, the Authority uses aircraft landing fees and revenues from concessions to fund operations. As an airport operator, the Authority can issue tax-exempt bonds to finance major capital improvements.

The Authority's Board of Directors has seventeen members who serve six-year terms. Three are appointed by the President of the United States, seven by the Governor of Virginia, four by the Mayor of the District of Columbia, and three by the Governor of Maryland.

Interstate Agencies (Maryland memberships)
Maryland & the Federal Government
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright February 16, 2023 Maryland State Archives