Robert S. Bloxom, Co-Chair (chosen by Commission)
John F. Wood, Jr., Co-Chair (chosen by Commission)

Appointed by Co-Chairs: Bill Bolling; John C. Brooks, Jr.; Robert T. Brown, Sr.; Kirby A. Carpenter; Weston Conley; Jeff Crockett; Frank W. Dawson; Donald E. Erb; C. Ronald Franks; William J. Goldsborough; John B. Graham III; Paige W. Hogge; W. Tayloe Murphy, Jr.; William A. Pruitt; Larry W. Simns; Jack Travelstead; John W. White, Sr.

In 1996, Bi-State Blue Crab Advisory Committee was created by Chesapeake Bay Commission to examine condition of Bay's blue crab population. Committee was to devise ways by which Maryland and Virginia jointly can better manage and sustain fishery.

Committee members included the secretary of natural resources from each state, legislators, watermen, conservationists, fisheries managers, crab processors, and recreational crabbers.

Due to budget constraints, Committee's last meeting was July 8, 2003.

Appointed by Commission:
Ann Pesiri Swanson, Chair
George Abbe; Lowell Bahner; Chris Bonzek; Kirby A. Carpenter; Joe Cimino; Lynn Fegley; John R. (Jack) Greer, Ph.D.; Anson H. Hines, Ph.D.; John M. Hoenig, Ph.D.; Edward D. Houde, Ph.D.; Eric G. Johnson, Ph.D.; James Kirkley, Ph.D.; Romuald N. Lipcius, Ph.D.; Douglas W. Lipton, Ph.D.; John R. McConaugha, Ph.D.; Thomas J. Miller, Ph.D.; Rob O'Reilly; Derek Orner; Robert J. Orth, Ph.D.; Michael Paolisso, Ph.D.; Eric Robillard; Alexei F. Sharov; Harley J. Speir; Jacques van Montfrans; Yonathan Zohar, Ph.D.

To ensure access to scientific and technical expertise in developing blue crab management plans, Bi-State Blue Crab Advisory Committee set up its own Technical Work Group in 1996. Composed of scientists, ecologists, and economists, Work Group did advise both Bi-State Blue Crab Advisory Committee and Chesapeake Bay Commission. Work Group provided answers to technical questions and pursued specific scientific research to assist Committee's work. When Committee ceased to function in July 2003, Work Group continued its work to assist Commission.

Work Group last met in 2006.

Interstate Agencies (Maryland memberships)
Maryland & the Federal Government
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 11, 2022 Maryland State Archives