Elected by Voters to 2-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. IV, sec. 44):
1867-1869 William Howard
1869-1871 John D. Johnson
1871-1873 William Twilley
1873-1875 William S. Moore (D)
1875-1877 Levin R. Dorman
1877-1879 Joshua H. Trader
1879-1881 William S. Moore (D)
1881-1883 V. J. Collier
1883-1885 William S. Gordy
1885-1887 Edward L. Austin
1887-1889 Isaac H. White
1889-1891 James Jones
1891-1893 Thomas S. Roberts
1893-1895 John W. Farlow
1895-1897 James C. Johnson
1897-1899 John W. Dashiell
1899-1901 Jesse H. Bratton
1901-1903 George W. Fooks (D)
1903-1905 William Gillis
1905-1907 Elmer E. Bradley
1907-1909 William W. Laramore (D)
1909-1911 Josiah Clayton Kelly (D)
1911-1913 Roy E. Smith (D)
1913-1915 William C. Brady
1915-1917 Walter J. Dryden (D)
1917-1919 James S. Chatham
1919-1921 William W. Lawrence
1921-1923 John H. Farlow
1923-1926 G. Murray Phillips (D)

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. XVII; added by Chapter 227, Acts of 1922, ratified Nov. 7, 1922):
1926-1930 Ralph C. Duffy
1930-1934 G. Murray Phillips (D)
1934-1938 Charles H. Truitt
1938-1942 Marvin Bounds Gordy (D)
1942-1946 Leroy H. Brewington (D)

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. IV, sec. 44, amended by Chapter 786, Acts of 1945, ratified Nov. 5, 1946):
1946-1958 Jesse Morris Pollitt
1958-1968 Samuel A. Graham (died Dec. 8, 1968)
1968-1970 Eugene McLaughlin Carey
1970-1982 William E. Shockley
1982-1984 John W. Baker
1984-2006 R. Hunter Nelms (R)
2006- Michael A. Lewis (R)

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@maryland.gov

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 14, 2022 Maryland State Archives