Appointed by Attorney General (Chapter 146, Acts of 1817 December session):
1845-1848 John Bozman Kerr (W)
1849-1851 Henry Hollyday Goldsborough (W)
1851 James Lloyd Martin

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1851, Art. V, secs. 1-6):
1851-1860 James Lloyd Martin
1860-1862 Isaac C. W. Powell (D) (arrested May 28, 1862; released Dec. 7, 1862; rearrested 1863)

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1864, Art. V, secs. 7-11):
1865-1867 Isaac C. W. Powell (D)

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. V, secs. 7-12):
1870-1879 Charles Hopper Gibson (D)
1879-1883 J. F. Bateman (D)
1883-1887 William E. Norwood

1891-1895 William E. Stewart
1895-1903 Clayland Mulliken
1903-1909 James Harry Covington (D)
1909-1912 J. Frank Turner (D)
1912-1924 Charles J. Butler
1924-1927 John C. North
1927-1931 Henry Herbert Balch
1931-1939 Oliver S. Mullikin
1939-1947 William Reddie (D)
1947-1954 Harry E. Clark
1954-1963 Henry Powell Turner
1963-1971 John C. North II
1971-1973 William S. Horne (D)
1973-1983 Sidney S. Campen, Jr.
1983-1986 Scott G. Patterson (D)
1986-1989 Phillip Carey Foster (D)
1989-2023 Scott G. Patterson (D)
2023- Joseph Irvin Coale (R)

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@maryland.gov

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright January 19, 2023 Maryland State Archives