Appointed by Secretary in Maryland:
1651 Robert Vaughan
1652-1655 Thomas Hynson
1655-1656 Thomas Hill
1656-1657 Thomas Hynson
1657-1658 William Leeds
1658-1660 John Coursey
1660-1668 Tobias (Tobey) Wells
1668-1669 John Wright
1669-1670 Disborough Bennett
1670-1672 Peter Sayer
1672-1676 Charles Banks
1676-1679 Benjamin Randall
1679 Charles Banks (died c. Aug. 1679)
1679-1687 Elias King
1687-1689 Michael Turbutt (forced out by Protestant Associators)

Appointed by act of Convention:
1689-1692 Michael Miller

Appointed by Secretary in Maryland:
1692-1695 Charles Hynson, Sr.
1695-1699 Simon Wilmer (died Aug. 1699)
1699-1702 John Dowdall
1702-1707 George Lumley
1707-1760 James Smith (died March 1760)
1760-1777 Dennis Dulany

Appointed by County Court Justices (Constitution of 1776, sec. 47):
1777-1781 Ezekiel Forman
1781-1798 Benjamin Chambers
1798-1806 Thomas Worrell
1807-1816 Benjamin Chambers
1816 Richard Ringold
1816-1822 William Scott
1823 Joseph Wickes IV
1823-1827 Thomas Worrell
1827-1849 Joseph Nicholson Gordon (died April 28, 1849)

Appointed by Governor to 7-year term (Chapter 224, Acts of 1836, confirmed by Chapter 160, Acts of 1837):
1849-1851 Joseph Redue


Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1851, Art. IV, sec. 14):
1851-1857 James Frisby Gordon
1857-1865 Jesse K. Hines (D)

Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1864, Art. IV, sec. 29):
1865-1867 Jesse K. Hines (D)

Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. IV, sec. 25):
1867-1873 Jesse K. Hines (D)
1873-1879 David C. Blackiston (D)
1879-1891 Samuel Beck
1891-1897 Samuel G. Fisher
1897-1909 James T. Dixon
1909-1915 Ernest A. Toadvin
1915-1921 A. Parks Rasin
1921-1926 Robert R. Ayres

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. XVII, added by Chapter 227, Acts of 1922, ratified Nov. 7, 1922):
1926-1946 Robert A. Shallcross (D)
1946-1958 W. Henry Gsell (D)

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. IV, sec. 25, amended by Chapter 99, Acts of 1956, ratified Nov. 6, 1956):
1958-1962 W. Henry Gsell (D)
1962-1990 Earl H. Pinder
Mark L. Mumford (D)

Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland Government
Maryland & the Federal Government
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 02, 2017 Maryland State Archives