Elected [for Howard District of Anne Arundel County] by Voters to 3-year terms (Constitution of 1776, sec. 42):
1843-1845 Thomas Burgess (D)
1845-1848 Washington Gaither
1848-1851 Charles G. Haslup

Elected by Voters to 2-year terms (Constitution of 1851, Art. IV, sec. 20):
1851-1853 Seth W. Warfield
1853-1855 Edward A. Talbott
1855-1857 Joshua McCauley
1857-1859 John Orem
1859-1861 Thomas Burgess (D)
1861-1863 J. P. Ijams

Elected by Voters to 2-year terms (Constitution of 1864, Art. IV, sec. 49):
1864-1867 David E. Hopkins

Elected by Voters to 2-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. IV, sec. 44):
1867 Edward McCauley
1867-1869 William A. Webb
1869-1871 Claudius Stewart
1871-1873 John S. Tracey
1873-1875 Walter Dorsey (R)
1875-1877 G. Washington Carr
1877-1879 Joseph Hunt
1879-1881 Joseph McCauley
1883-1885 Nicholas T. Hutchins
1885-1887 Frank Shipley
1887-1889 George D. Day
1889-1891 Stephen R. Hobbs
1891-1893 William G. Owings
1893-1895 Gilbert E. Flower
1895-1896 Greenbury Johnson, Jr. (died July 2, 1896)
1896-1897 Frank Oldfield
1897-1899 Charles D. Pickett
1899-1901 Lewis E. Phelps
1901-1903 James L. Hobbs (D)
1903-1905 John F. Kyne
1905-1907 Joseph Hunt
1907-1909 George W. Howard (D)
1909-1911 James L. Hobbs (D)
1911-1913 Sandy T. Mullinix (D)
1913-1915 John V. Long
1915-1917 James L. Hobbs (D)
1917-1921 James H. Hudson
1921-1923 Arthur A. Brosenne
1923-1926 Philip S. Brown

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. XVII; added by Chapter 227, Acts of 1922, ratified Nov. 7, 1922):
1926-1930 John H. Hardy
1930-1934 George D. Day, Jr.
1934-1938 J. Frank Curtis
1938-1942 C. Dorsey Hobbs (D)
1942-1946 L. Edwin Carr (D)

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. IV, sec. 44, amended by Chapter 786, Acts of 1945, ratified Nov. 5, 1946):
1946-1950 Frederick C. Kramer (R)
1950-1958 W. Harvey Hill
1958-1970 Norman O. Howard
1970-1974 Charles C. Senseney
1974-1982 John J. Votta
1982-1986 Virginia L. Donnelly
1986-1990 Herbert Stonesifer
1990-1998 Michael A. Chiuchiolo (D)
1998-2006 Charles M. Cave (D)
2006-2016 James F. Fitzgerald (D)
2016-2018 William J. McMahon (R)
2018- Marcus Harris (D)

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 14, 2022 Maryland State Archives