Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. V, secs. 7-12):
1873-1875 John W. Wolfe
1875-1887 John W. Veitch
1887-1891 William P. Townshend
1891-1895 Gilmor Semmes Hamill (D)
1895-1907 Frederick A. Thayer
1907-1916 Julius C. Renninger
1916-1920 Ernest Ray Jones (R)
1920-1927 William R. Offutt (D)
1927-1930 Julius C. Renninger
1930-1935 Walter W. Dawson (R)
1935-1947 Neil C. Fraley (R)
1947-1955 W. Dwight Stover (R)
1955-1959 Stephen H. Pagenhardt
1959-1962 W. Dwight Stover (R)
1962-1975 Frederick A. Thayer III
1975-1979 Ralph M. Burnett (R)
1979-1996 James L. Sherbin (R)
1996-2023 Lisa Thayer-Welch (R)
2023- Christian W. Mash (R)

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright February 09, 2023 Maryland State Archives