Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. IV, sec. 25):
1873-1887 William H. Tower (R) (died 1887)
1887-1926 Edward Z. Tower

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. XVII, added by Chapter 227, Acts of 1922, ratified Nov. 7, 1922):
1926-1933 Edward Z. Tower
1933-1946 Albert G. Rose (R)
1946-1978 Richard L. Davis
1978-1990 Clifford C. DeWitt (R)
1990-2007 David K. Martin (R)
2007-2013 Sondra R. Buckel (R)
2013-2019 Timothy W. Miller (R) (retired July 1, 2019)
2019- Kerry L. Gibson (R)

Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland Government
Maryland & the Federal Government
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 03, 2019 Maryland State Archives