Appointed by Secretary in Maryland:
1658-1660 George Thompson (dismissed)
1660 Thomas Lomax (expelled)
1661-1667 George Thompson
1667-1669 Richard Boughton
1670-1672 Henry Bonner
1672-1674 Philip Gibbon (died c. April 1674)
1674-1676 Matthew Stone (died c. Sept. 1676)
1676-1682 Randolph Brandt (resigned)
1682-1689 Richard Boughton

Appointed by act of Convention:
1689 Richard Boughton (resigned)

Appointed by Secretary in Maryland:
1690-1699 Cleborne [Cleybourn] Lomax (died 1699)
1699 Edward Batson (resigned)
1700-1710 Edmund Howard (died Oct. 1710)
1710-1717 John Rodgers (died Nov. 1717)
1717-1720 Alexander Contee (transferred to Prince George's County)
1720-1740 Samuel Hanson, Sr. (died Oct. 26, 1740)
1741-1752 Edmund Porteus (died March 28, 1752)
1752-1756 Benjamin Fendall (resigned)
1756-1776 Philip Richard Fendall

Appointed by County Court Justices (Constitution of 1776, sec. 47):
1777-1778 Philip Richard Fendall
1778-1787 John Gwinn
1789-1795 John Bealle Turner
1795-1844 John Barnes

Appointed by Governor to 7-year terms (Chapter 224, Acts of 1836, confirmed by Chapter 160, Acts of 1837):
1844-1850 Walter Mitchell
1850-1851 Richard H. Mitchell


Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1851, Art. IV, sec. 14):
1851-1857 Joseph Stewart
1857-1859 Joseph H. Cooksey
1859-1865 Gerard W. Crain

Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1864, Art. IV, sec. 29):
1865-1867 George A. Huntt

Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. IV, sec. 25):
1867-1875 George A. Huntt
1875-1885 Benjamin G. Stonestreet (R)
1885-1897 J. Samuel Turner
1897-1903 Benjamin G. Stonestreet (R)
1903-1909 Francis D. Mudd
1909-1915 Harry C. Chappelear
1915-1917 Conrad Posey
1917, March 8 - Nov. 30 Francis B. Matthews
1917-1926 Warren M. Albrittain (R)

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. XVII, added by Chapter 227, Acts of 1922, ratified Nov. 7, 1922):
1926-1943 Warren M. Albrittain (R)
1943-1946 Thomas B. R. Mudd (R)
1946-1958 Patrick C. Mudd

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. IV, sec. 25, amended by Chapter 99, Acts of 1956, ratified Nov. 6, 1956):
1958-1984 Patrick C. Mudd
1984-2001 Donna G. Burch (D)
Richard A.Day III (D)
2005- Sharon L. (Sherri) Hancock (D)

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 02, 2017 Maryland State Archives