Appointed by Attorney General (Chapter 126, Acts of 1821 December session):
1849-1850 Joseph Wickes
1851 Richard Grason

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1851, Art. V, secs. 1-6):
1851-1857 Richard Grason
1857-1863 William J. Jones (W) (A) (U)

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1864, Art. V, secs. 7-11):
1865-1867 Reuben Haines

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. V, secs. 7-12):
1871-1879 Clinton McCullough (D)
1883-1887 Daniel Bratton (D)
1887-1891 William S. Evans (D)
1891-1895 Austin L. Crothers (D)
1895-1903 William S. Evans (D)
1903-1907 J. Wilson Squier (D)
1907-1916 Albert Constable
1916-1920 Charles B. Finley, Jr.
1920-1924 Henry A. Warburton
1924-1927 Joshua Clayton (R)
1927-1931 Henry L. Constable (D)
1931-1943 Edward D. E. Rollins (R)
1943-1951 Henry L. Constable (D)
1951-1963 J. Albert Roney, Jr. (D)
1963-1967 Walter M. Baker (D)
1967-1980 Donaldson C. Cole, Jr.

1982-2002 John L. Scarborough (D)
2002-2011 Christopher J. Eastridge (D)
2011-2017 Edward D. E. (Ellis) Rollins III (R)

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@mdarchives.state.md.us

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright February 17, 2017 Maryland State Archives