Elected by Voters to 3-year terms (Constitution of 1776, sec. 42):
1837-1839 Nicholas Kelly
1839-1842 Jacob Grove
1842-1845 John Henry Hoope
1845-1848 Lewis Trumbo
1848-1851 Hanson T. Webb

Elected by Voters to 2-year terms (Constitution of 1851, Art. IV, sec. 20):
1851-1853 William S. Brown
1853-1855 John M. Yingling
1855-1857 Joseph Schaeffer
1857-1859 William Wilson
1859-1861 William Segafoose (D)
1861-1863 Jeremiah Babylon
1863-1865 Joseph Ebaugh

Elected by Voters to 2-year terms (Constitution of 1864, Art. IV, sec. 49):
1865-1867 Jacob D. Hoope

Elected by Voters to 2-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. IV, sec. 44):
1867-1869 Thomas B. Gist
1869-1871 John Tracey
1871-1873 George N. Fringer (R)
1873-1875 Edward Devilbiss (D)
1875-1877 James W. White
1877-1879 Peter Woods (D)
1879-1881 George N. Fringer (R)
1881-1883 S. Carr Wickert
1883 E. M. Fuhrman
1883-1885 George A. Shriver, Esq.
1885-1887 John T. Lynch
1889-1891 S. Carr Wickert
1893-1895 Elias B. Arnold
1895-1897 J. Oliver Murray (D)
1897-1899 Ephriam Haines
1899-1901 George W. Motter
1901-1903 Francis A. Crawford (D)
1903-1905 William H. Wilson
1905-1907 Joseph L. Franklin
1907-1909 Jeremiah B. Townshend (R)
1909-1911 Benjamin D. Kemper (R)
1911-1913 Elias N. Davis
1913-1915 Albert L. Davis
1915-1917 James M. Stoner
1917-1919 Edwin M. Mellor, Jr.
1919-1921 William Bloom
1921-1923 E. Edward Martin
1923-1926 William T. Phillips

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. XVII; added by Chapter 227, Acts of 1922, ratified Nov. 7, 1922):
1926-1930 George C. Fowble
1930-1934 Ray Yohn (D)
1934-1938 Joseph A. Shipley
1938-1942 Walter L. Shipley (R)
1942-1946 Charles W. Conaway (D)

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. IV, sec. 44, amended by Chapter 786, Acts of 1945, ratified Nov. 5, 1946):
1946-1954 J. Wesley Mathias, Jr.
1954-1958 William M. Buckingham
1958-1962 Charles C. Conaway (D)
1962-1982 H. LeRoy (Monk) Campbell (R)
1982-1990 Grover N. Sensabaugh (D)
1990-1998 John H. Brown (R)
1998-2014 Kenneth L. Tregoning (R)
2014- James T. DeWees (R)

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright September 29, 2015 Maryland State Archives