Appointed by Governor to 1-year terms:
1773 Thomas Hughlett
1774-1775 William Hopper

Elected by Voters to 3-year terms (Constitution of 1776, sec. 42):
1777-1778 Nathaniel Potter
1778 William Hopper
1778-1782 Henry Downes
1782-1785 Peter Edmondson
1785 William Banckes [Banks]
1787-1791 Thomas Hughlett
1791-1794 Peter Edmondson
1794-1797 Hawkin Downes
1797-1800 Dekar Thompson
1800-1803 James Summers (R)
1803-1806 John Mitchell (F)
1806-1809 Robert Orrell (R)
1809-1812 Thomas Saulsbury (R)
1812-1815 James Keen (F)
1815-1818 George A. Smith (R)
1818-1821 William MacDaniel (F)
1821-1824 Frederick Holbrook (R)
1824-1827 Thomas Burchenal
1827-1830 Thomas S. Carter
1833-1836 William Orrell
1839-1842 Tilghman Johnson
1843-1845 John Jump
1845-1847 William Delahay
1849-1851 Edward L. Young

Elected by Voters to 2-year terms (Constitution of 1851, Art. IV, sec. 20):
1851-1853 James H. Barwick
1853-1855 Thomas S. Saulsbury
1855-1857 Francis A. Sisk
1857-1859 Alexander Knotts
1859-1861 James G. Reddul (A)
1861-1863 J. W. Saulsbury
1863-1865 William M. McMahan

Elected by Voters to 2-year terms (Constitution of 1864, Art. IV, sec. 49):

Elected by Voters to 2-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. IV, sec. 44):
1867-1869 Esma Lowe (D)
1869-1871 Rufus K. Richardson (D)
1871-1873 Jonathan Evitts (P)
1873-1875 James E. Johnson (D)
1875-1877 Reynolds Y. Collins (D)
1877-1879 Jonathan Evitts (P)
1879-1881 Francis A. (Frank) Sisk (D)
1881-1883 George W. Cohee (R)
1883-1885 John W. Stevens (R)
1885-1887 Thomas B. Curry (R)
1887-1889 R. Kemp Williams (D)
1889-1891 Charles H. Shields (D)
1891-1893 John W. Stevens (Fus.)*
1893-1895 George H. Berry (D)
1895-1897 Thomas R. Green (R)
1897-1899 Robert C. Rice (R)
1899-1901 Edward C. Liden (D)
1901-1903 Isaac L. Dukes (R)
1903-1905 William T. Higgnutt (D)
1905-1907 T. Frank Seward (R)
1907-1909 William Henry Beck (D)
1909-1911 Thomas L. Chaffinch (D)
1911-1913 Alcenus E. Cooper (D)
1913-1915 James Temple (D)
1915-1917 Josiah A. Beck (D)
1917-1919 Robert C. Rice (R)
1919-1921 Owen N. Dulin (D)
1921-1923 William C. Andrew (D)
1923-1926 James Temple (D)

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. XVII; added by Chapter 227, Acts of 1922, ratified Nov. 7, 1922):
1926-1930 William F. Jackson (D)
1930-1934 Gurney H. Tarbutton (D)
1934-1938 H. Saulsbury Sparks (D)
1938-1946 William E. Andrew (D)

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. IV, sec. 44, amended by Chapter 786, Acts of 1945, ratified Nov. 5, 1946):
1946-1950 H. Saulsbury Sparks (D)
1950-1961 William E. Andrew (D) (died July 29, 1961)
1961-1994 Louis C. Andrew (D)
1994 A. Curtis Andrew (acting) (D)
1995-2010 Philip L. Brown (D)
2010-2022 John R. (Randy) Bounds (R)
2022- Donald L. Baker, Jr. (R)

*(Fus.) = Fusion Ticket; County Republican Convention generated ticket that included nominees from both Democratic and Republican parties.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 06, 2023 Maryland State Archives