Chosen by Board of County Commissioners from Board's members:
1885 James B. Duke, Secretary & Treasurer

Appointed by Governor with Senate advice & consent to 2-year terms (Chapter 183, Acts of 1890):
1896-1898 Alex. Basil Duke

Elected by Voters to 2-year terms:
1898-1900 John Parran
1900-1901 William H. Dowell
1901-1903 John Sedwick (R)
1903-1905 Charles L. Marsh (R)
1905-1909 James B. Latimer
1909-1911 James C. Chaney (R)
1911-1913 William H. Dowell
1913-1915 John Parran
1915-1917 Malcolm Grahame (D)
1917-1921 William H. Dowell
1921-1926 John W. Leitch, M.D.

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Chapter 227, Acts of 1922, ratified Nov. 7, 1922; Constitution, Art. XVII):
1926-1930 John L. Gibson
1930-1933 John A. Monnett
1934-1937 Louisa M. Monnett (resigned July 1937)
1937-1942 Samuel C. Cox (D)
1942-1946 John L. Gibson (D)
1946-1951 Mary E. King
1951-1955 Irene B. Hance
1955-1959 J. Austin Bowen (D)
1959-1963 Jesse L. Bowen
1963-1975 Harry H. Harkness (D)
1975-1994 Jessie Jo Bowen (D)
1994-1998 Novalea Tracy (R)
1998- Novalea Tracy-Soper (R)

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 03, 2017 Maryland State Archives