Appointed by Secretary in Maryland:
1661-1669 John Collett
1669-1674 Thomas Salmon (resigned)
1674-1677 Edward Williams
1677-1679 Henry Johnson
1679-1689 Thomas Hedge

Appointed by act of Convention:
1689-1698 Thomas Hedge (died Aug. 1698)

Appointed by Secretary in Maryland:
1698-1709 Henry Wriothesly (died June 1709)
1709-1716 John Stokes (resigned)
1716-1718 George Middleton
1718-1732 John Stokes (died Aug. 1732)
1732-1741 Humphrey Wells Stokes (resigned)
1741-1746 Thomas Brerewood, Sr. (died Dec. 22, 1746)
1747-1753 Talbot Risteau (died Nov. 23, 1753)
1753-1768 John Beale Bordley (resigned)
1769-1777 Alexander Lawson, Jr.

Appointed by County Court Justices (Constitution of 1776, sec. 47):
1777-1832 William Gibson
1832-1839 Arad Israel
1839-1844 Thomas Keil

Appointed by Governor to 7-year term (Chapter 224, Acts of 1836, confirmed by Chapter 160, Acts of 1837):
1844-1851 Augustus Williamson Bradford


Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1851, Art. IV, sec. 14):
1851-1857 Henry M. Fitzhugh
1857-1863 George H. Carman
1863-1865 John H. Longnecker

Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1864, Art. IV, sec. 29):
1865-1867 John H. Longnecker

Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. IV, sec. 25):
1867-1873 Edward H. Ady
1873-1879 John Bacon (D)
1879-1885 William M. Isaac
1885-1891 John W. Shanklin
1891-1897 Lewis N. Bacon
1897-1903 Nicholas Bosley Merryman
1903-1926 William Purrington Cole

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. XVII, added by Chapter 227, Acts of 1922, ratified Nov. 7, 1922):
1926-1927 William Purrington Cole
1927 C. Walter Cole
1927-1929 W. Howard Milling
1929-1933 Louis McL. Merryman
1933-1941 C. Willing Browne, Jr. (D)
1941-1942 Christian H. Kahl (D)
1942-1946 Robert J. Spittel (D)
1946-1950 T. Braden Silcott
1950-1958 George L. Byerly

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. IV, sec. 25, amended by Chapter 99, Acts of 1956, ratified Nov. 6, 1956):
1958-1962 Walter J. Rasmussen (D)
1963-1965 Robert R. Gill (resigned Aug. 6, 1965)
1965-1976 Orville T. Gosnell
1974-1986 Elmer H. Kahline, Jr. (D)
1986-2010 Suzanne K. Mensh (D) (1929-2012)
2010 Richard D. Arnold, Jr. (D)
2010- Julie L. Ensor (D)

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 14, 2022 Maryland State Archives