Appointed by Attorney General (Chapter 126, Acts of 1821 December session):
1842-1844 Hanson B. Pigman

1847-1850 John M. Brewer

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1851, Art. V, secs. 1-6):
1851-1855 Josiah Hans Gordon (D)
1855-1859 James McCannon Schley
1859-1863 Charles Buckner Thruston (D)
1863-1865 George A. Thruston (R)

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1864, Art. V, secs. 7-11):
1865-1867 Goerge A. Thruston (R)

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. V, secs. 7-12):
1867-1868 Charles Buckner Thruston (D)
1868-1875 William J. Read (R)
1875-1879 A. Hunter Boyd (D)
1879-1883 David William Sloan (R)
1883-1888 Benjamin Armstrong Richmond (R)
1888-1895 David W. Sloan (R)
1895-1898 George Alexander Pearre (R)
1898-1899 Robert Randolph Henderson (R)
1899-1903 John G. Wilson
1903-1907 Archibald A. Wilson
1907-1912 David A. Robb (R)
1912-1916 Frank A. Perdew (D)
1916-1920 J. Philip Roman (R)
1920-1924 Fuller Barnard, Jr. (D)
1924-1937 William A. Huster (R)
1937-1951 Morgan C. Harris (R)
1951-1959 Paul M. Fletcher (R)
1959-1965 James S. Getty (R)
1965-1973 Donald W. Mason (R)
1973-1990 Robert W. Hamilton (R)
1990-2002 Lawrence V. Kelly (R)
2002-2021 Michael O. Twigg (R) (resigned Jan. 22, 2021)
2021- James F. Elliott (R), Interim State's Attorney

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 02, 2021 Maryland State Archives