Irma S. Raker, Chair (chosen by Chief Judge, Court of Appeals)
Ben C. Clyburn, Vice-Chair (chosen by Chief Judge, Court of Appeals)

[photo, Judiciary Education & Conference Center, 2011 Commerce Park Drive, Annapolis, Maryland] Appointed by Chief Judge, Court of Appeals:
Richard P. Abbott, Esq.; Jose Felipe Anderson; Steven P. Anderson; Cathy A. Ashby; Mary Ellen Barbera; Gray Barton; Mark R. Bittner; Sandy S. Brewer; L. Tracy Brown, Esq.; Chadfield B. Clapsaddle; Mary Joel Davis; Paul B. DeWolfe, Jr.; Barbara D. Domer; Susan M. Erlichman, Esq.; Priscilla Fox-Morrill; Herbert S. Garten, Esq.; Sharon E. Goldsmith, Esq.; John R. Hargrove, Jr.; Pamela Q. Harris; Karen A. Murphy Jensen; Katherine Kelly Howard, Esq.; Wilhelm H. Joseph, Jr.; Loretta E. Knight; Connie L. Kratovil-Lavelle; Peter B. Krauser; John P. Kudel, Esq.; Michael A. Millemann; William D. Missouri; John Nethercut; Scott G. Patterson, Esq.; Linda B. (Lu) Pierson; Jonathan S. Rosenthal, Esq.; Thomas G. Ross; Cathy Hollenberg Serrette; Bonnie Sullivan; Roberta L. Warnken; David W. Weissert; Angelita V. Plemmer Williams; Rachel A. Wohl, Esq.

Judiciary Education & Conference Center, 2011 Commerce Park Drive, Annapolis, Maryland, January 2014. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

Ex officio: Tammy M. Brown, designee of Governor; Joshua N. Auerbach, designee of Attorney General; Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr., Senate President; Kathleen M. Dumais, designee of House Speaker.

Pamela C. Ortiz, Esq., Executive Director

Judiciary Education & Conference Center, 2011-D Commerce Park Drive, Annapolis, MD 21401
(410) 260-1258; fax: (410) 260-3560

In October 2008, the Maryland Access to Justice Commission was initiated by the Chief Judge of the Court of Appeals. Commission duties and functions in March 2010 were authorized by Administrative Order for three years. In April 2013, the Chief Judge extended the Commission indefinitely, and incresed its membership to forty-six.

The Commission coordinated efforts of the Maryland judicial system to improve and expand all people's access to the State's civil justice system, including access for those of limited means and those who choose to represent themselves in court without legal assistance.

To strengthen the legal services delivery system and better assist litigants representing themselves, the Commission developed and implemented policy, and identified and addressed existing barriers to civil justice, such as language, literacy, and cultural differences. The Commission also promoted public education and comprehension of the civil justice system.

For the Administrative Office of the Courts, the Commission administered the process by which all practicing lawyers in Maryland annually are required to submit a lawyer pro bono legal service report.

In November 2009, the Commission submitted an interim report to the Chief Judge of the Court of Appeals. Among other barriers, the report cited insufficient funding of legal services for the poor which leaves many without meaningful access to the courts or the help they need to resolve their legal problems.

By Administrative Order, the Commission was disbanded effective December 31, 2014. Much of its work was assumed by the Access to Justice Department of the Administrative Office of the Courts.

Maryland Judiciary
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 14, 2022 Maryland State Archives