Christopher D. Kearney, M.D., Chair (chosen by Governor), 2024

Appointed by Governor to 4-year terms: Shahid Aziz, M.D., 2021.

Elena Sallitto, Esq.; M. Jane Markley, R.N.; Christine Snook Watts, R.N., Alan D. Eason, Esq. Terms expire 2022.

Rabbi Steven M. Glazer; Susan K. Lyons. Terms expire 2023.

Tiffany Callender Erbelding; Donald F. D'Aquila, Pharm.D.; Sara Hufstader. Terms expire 2024.

Margaret (Peggy) A. Funk; Gail S. Mansell. Terms expire 2025.

Nicole Lopez de Victoria. Term expires 2026.

three vacancies

Appointed by Senate President: Benjamin F. Kramer

Appointed by House Speaker: one vacancy

Ex officio: Paul J. Ballard, designee of Attorney General; Stevanne A. Ellis, designee of Secretary of Aging; vacancy, designee of Secretary of Disabilities; Patricia Tomsko (Tricia) Nay, M.D., designee of Secretary of Health.

Staff: Kathleen M. Todd

[photo, 300 West Preston St., Baltimore, Maryland] c/o Office of Assistant Attorney General
Maryland Department of Health
300 West Preston St., Suite 302, Baltimore, MD 21202
(410) 767-1864

300 West Preston St., Baltimore, Maryland, October 2019. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

In December 2002, the State Advisory Council on Quality Care at the End of Life was created (Chapter 265, Acts of 2002). It reformed in October 2008 (Chapters 562 & 563, Acts of 2008).

On changes in laws related to the provision of care at the end of life, the Council advises the General Assembly. To the Attorney General's Office, the Department of Aging, the Maryland Department of Health, and other agencies of State government with respect to their activities affecting the provision of care at the end of life.

The impact of State laws, regulations, and policies on the care provided to the dying is studied and reported by the Council. Most recently, the Council 's report to the General Assembly, titled “State Policy Recommendations to Increase Electronic Advance Directive Registrations," was submitted in December 2020. In addition, the Council monitors trends in the provision of care to patients with fatal illnesses, and participates in public and professional educational efforts concerned with the care of the dying.

Twenty-three members compose the Council. Of these, seventeen are appointed by the Governor; one is chosen by the Senate President; one is named by the House Speaker. Four serve ex officio (Code Health-General Article, secs. 13-1601 through 13-1604).

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

© Copyright April 19, 2023 Maryland State Archives