David Fakunle, Ph.D., Acting Chair (chosen by Commission)

Appointed by Governor: not yet appointed

Appointed by President, Bowie State University: Roger Davison, Jr., Ph.D.

Appointed by President, Coppin State University: Elgin Klugh, Ph.D.

Appointed by President, Morgan State University: Simone R. Barrett, Ph.D.

Appointed by President, University of Maryland Eastern Shore: Marshall F. Stevenson, Jr., Ph.D.

Ex officio: Timothy D. Baker, State Archivist; Elizabeth A. Hughes, Director, Maryland Historical Trust; Rev. Tamara England Wilson, D.Min., Chair, Commission on African-American History & Culture; Jacqueline T. (Jackie) Copeland, Executive Director, Reginald F. Lewis Museum of African-American History & Culture; Gabriel Tenabe, Director, Lillie Mae Carroll Jackson Civil Rights Museum; Mark B. Letzer, President, Maryland Historical Society; Will Schwarz, President, Maryland Lynching Memorial Project; Gerald G. Stansbury, President, Maryland State Conference, National Association for the Advancement of Colored People; Joanne M. Martin, Ph.D., President, National Great Blacks in Wax Museum.

Staff: Zenita Wickham Hurley, Esq.
c/o Office of Attorney General
St. Paul Plaza, 200 St. Paul Place, Baltimore, MD 21202
(410) 576-7939

c/o Bowie State University
14000 Jericho Park Road, Bowie, MD 20715 - 9465
(301) 860-1400

Interim Report to Governor & General Assembly due Sept. 1, 2020 (Chapter 41, Acts of 2019).

Final Report to Governor & General Assembly due Dec. 1, 2021 (Chapter 41, Acts of 2019).

In June 2019, the Maryland Lynching Truth and Reconciliation Commission was authorized (Chapter 41, Acts of 2019).

Lynching is the extralegal murder of an individual in an act of mob violence. Between 1854 and 1933, at least 40 African Americans were lynched by white mobs in Maryland. No one ever has been tried, convicted, or otherwise brought to justice for participating in these lynchings in Maryland.

In those areas of the State where a documented lynching of an African-American by a white mob has occurred, the Commission is to hold regional hearings. Recommendations from the public for addressing, engaging, and reconciling communities where racially motivated lynchings occurred will be accepted by the Commission. Further, the Commission may research any undocumented lynchings brought to its attention, and also the role of State and local governments and the media in racially motivated lynchings.

For restorative justice, the Commission will make recommendations that address the legacy of lynching.

The Commission consists of seventeen members. Of these, four are appointed by the Governor, and one each by the Bowie State University President, the Coppin State University President, the Morgan State University President, and the University of Maryland Eastern Shore President. Nine serve ex officio.

Authorization for the Commission ends June 30, 2022.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright August 14, 2019 Maryland State Archives