Camille E. Burke, Chair (chosen by Commission), 2024

Appointed by Governor to 3-year terms: Crystal M. Faison, 2022; Paulette G. Hammond, 2022; Monica R. Brooks, 2023; Voncia L. Molock, 2023; Barbara J. Paca, Ph.D., 2024; Sacoby Miguel Wilson, Ph.D., 2024.

Appointed jointly by Senate President & House Speaker to 3-year terms: Renee B. Carr, Psy.D., 2026; Dennis M. Deshields, M.D., 2026; Kellie Gaither, 2026; Tracey Garrett, 2026; Andrew J. Miller, Ph.D., 2026; Rebecca C. Rehr, 2026.

Appointed by Maryland Association of Counties & Maryland Municipal League: Lori Cunningham; Peter Hill

Appointed by Maryland State & DC AFL-CIO: Donna F. Edwards; Gerald Jackson

Ex officio: Melissa Brown, designee of Secretary of Commerce; Devon L. Dodson, designee of Secretary of the Environment; Subha Chandar, designee of Secretary of Health; John N. Papagni, designee of Secretary of Housing & Community Development; Joseph Griffiths, designee of Secretary of Planning; Janet Moye Cornick, designee of Secretary of Transportation.

Staff: Devon L. Dodson


[photo, Montgomery Park Business Center, 1800 Washington Blvd., Baltimore, Maryland] c/o Office of Secretary, Department of the Environment
Montgomery Park Business Center, 1800 Washington Blvd., Baltimore, MD 21230
(410) 537-4499

Montgomery Park Business Center, 1800 Washington Blvd., Baltimore, Maryland, February 2004. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

In March 2001, the Governor created the Commission on Environmental Justice and Sustainable Communities (Executive Order 01.01.2001.01). Effective October 1, 2003, the Commission was established by statute by the General Assembly (Chapter 460, Acts of 2003). Environmental justice concerns the resolution of environmental issues in a manner equitable to all those affected by them. It has been defined as ". . . equal protection from environmental and health hazards for all people regardless of race, income, culture, and social class." (Chapter 741, Acts of 1997).

The Commission analyzes and reviews what impact State laws, regulations, and policy have on the equitable treatment and protection of communities threatened by development or environmental pollution, and determines what areas in the State need immediate attention. Moreover, the Commission assesses the adequacy of laws to ensure environmental justice, and develops criteria to pinpoint which communities need sustaining.

On issues related to environmental justice and sustainable communities, the Commission advises State agencies. With the Children's Environmental Health and Protection Advisory Council, it coordinates recommendations about such issues.

Twenty-one members constitute the Commission. Five are appointed by the Governor. Six are appointed jointly by the Senate President and House Speaker. One member is appointed by Maryland Association of Counties and one by the Maryland Municipal League. Two are named by the Maryland State and District of Columbia AFL-CIO. Six members serve ex officio (Chapter 635, Acts of 2021); Code Environment Article, sec. 1-701).

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright January 22, 2024 Maryland State Archives