Vacancy, Chair (chosen by Governor, Senate President & House Speaker)

Appointed by Governor: Kevin G. Amado, Sr.; Clara Baker; Debra Bennett; Benjamin C. Charlton, Esq.; Mercia Cummings; Jonathan Davis; Linda Dietsch; Kathryn Grant Dilley; Matthew D. Eisenberg, Ph.D.; Kathryn S. (Kate) Farinholt; Stacey A. Garnett; Shannon H. Hall; Aliya Jones, M.D.; Rachel London, Esq.; Leslie Seid Margolis; Linda J. Raines; Tamar Rodney, Ph.D.; Paula A. Smith-Benson, R.N.; Oleg D. Tarkovsky; Arlene V. Tyler, M.D.; Lawanda Williams; Stephanie S. Genser Wolf. Terms expire 2027.

Appointed by Senate President: Malcolm L. Augustine

Appointed by House Speaker: one vacancy

Representing Maryland Congressional Delegation: one vacancy

Ex officio: Laura Herrera Scott, M.D., Secretary of Health; Alyssa S. Lord, Deputy Secretary, Behavioral Health; Carol A. Beatty, Secretary of Disabilities; Rafael J. Lopez, Secretary of Human Services; Vincent N. Schiraldi, Secretary of Juvenile Services; Carolyn J. Scruggs, Secretary of Public Safety & Correctional Services; Dorothy J. Lennig, Esq., Executive Director, Governor's Office of Crime Prevention, Youth, & Victim Services; Michael J. (Ben) Steffen, Executive Director, Maryland Health Care Commission; Mark A. Luckner, Executive Director, Maryland Community Health Resources Commission; Kathleen K. (Katie) Wunderlich, Executive Director, Health Services Cost Review Commission; Michele S. Eberle, Executive Director, Maryland Health Benefit Exchange; Kathleen A. Birrane, Maryland Insurance Commissioner.


c/o Maryland Department of Health
Herbert R. O'Conor State Office Building, 201 West Preston St., Baltimore, MD 21201 - 2399
(410) 767-6500; 1-877-463-3464 (toll free, Maryland)
e-mail: Contact MDH

Annual Report to Governor & General Assembly due Jan. 1 (Chapter 290, Acts of 2023; Code Health-General Article, sec. 13-4807).

In June 2023, the Commission on Behavioral Health Care Treatment and Access was created by the General Assembly (Chapter 290, Acts of 2023).

The Commission is to recommend ways to provide appropriate, accessible and comprehensive behavioral health services, available on demand, to individuals in Maryland across the behavioral health continuum. Behavior health concerns a range of health matters, including disordeers involving addiction, mental health, and substance abuse; as well as life stressors and crises, and stress-related physical symptoms.

Under the Commission are four workgroups: Geriatric Behavioral Health; Youth Behavioral Health, Individuals with Developmental Disabilities, and Individuals with Complex Behavioral Health Needs;; Criminal Justice–Involved Behavioral Health; and Behavioral Health Workforce Development, Infrastructure, Coordination, and Financing.

The Commission consists of sixteen members (Code Health-General Article, sec. 13-4807).

Authorization for the Commission ends June 30, 2027.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

© Copyright November 14, 2023 Maryland State Archives