Barbara L. Allen, Co-Chair (chosen by Council)
G. Dan Martin, Esq., Co-Chair (chosen by Council)

Appointed by Governor to 3-year terms: Christina Halpin. Term expires 2018.

Barbara L. Allen; Dori S. Bishop; T-Kea Blackman; Mary Leslie Bunch; Joyce N. Harrison, M.D.; Sharon M. Lipford; Dana M. Sauro; Sabrina A. Sepulveda; Jeffrey P. Sternlicht, M.D.; Deneice H. Valentine; Mary C. Vaughan; Anita M. Wells, Ph.D.; one vacancy. Terms expire 2021.

Appointed by Senate President: Adelaide C. Eckardt

Appointed by House Speaker: one vacancy

Appointed by Chief Judge, Court of Appeals: George M. Lipman; Dana M. Wright

Appointed by Secretary of Health: Lillian M. Donnard; Kathryn S. Farinholt, J.D.; Ann M. Geddes; Lauren Grimes; Shannon E. Hall; Carlos Hardy; Mariana Izraelson, Psy.D.; G. Dan Martin, Esq.; Luciene M. Parsley, Esq.; Jan A. Desper Peters; Keith R. Richardson; two vacancies.

Representing county behavioral health advisory councils: Makeitha H. Abdulbarr; Kenneth R. Collins; Kathryn Dilley; William S. Patten.

Ex officio: Rosanne B. Hanratty, designee of Secretary of Aging; Jonathan D. Martin, designee of Secretary of Budget & Management; Kirsten Robb-McGrath, designee of Secretary of Disabilities; Shayna K. Dee, designee of Secretary of Health; Lisa A. Burgess, M.D., Acting Deputy Secretary, Behavioral Health, vacancy, Deputy Secretary, Health Care Financing, & Ambrosia M. Watts, designee of Executive Director, Behavioral Health Administration, Maryland Dept. of Health; Dayna L. Harris, designee of Secretary of Housing & Community Development; Keisha R. Peterson, designee of Secretary of Human Services; vacancy, designee of Secretary of Juvenile Services; Randall S. Nero, Ph.D., designee of Secretary of Public Safety & Correctional Services; Sylvia A. Lawson, Ph.D., designee of State Superintendent of Schools; Catherine R. Drake, designee of Assistant State Superintendent, Rehabilitation Services, State Dept. of Education; Tracey R. Webb, designee of Executive Director, Governor's Office for Children; James R. Hedrick, designee of Executive Director, Governor's Office of Crime Control & Prevention; Jacob Salem, designee of Director, Office of the Deaf & Hard of Hearing; John-Pierre Cardenas, designee of Executive Director, Maryland Health Benefit Exchange; Mary J. Pizzo, J.D., designee of Public Defender; Karyn M. Black, designee of President, Maryland Association of Core Services Agencies; Lori A. Brewster, designee of President, Maryland Association of County Health Officers.

Staff: Cynthia D. Petion

c/o Behavioral Health Administration, Maryland Department of Health
Dix Building, Spring Grove Hospital Center, 55 Wade Ave., Catonsville, MD 21228
(410) 402-8468

Annual Report to Governor & General Assembly due Dec. 31 (Code Health-General Article, sec. 7.5-305 (2)).

In October 2015, the Behavioral Health Advisory Council was created within the Governor's Office (Chapter 328, Acts of 2015). The Council replaces both the Maryland State Drug and Alcohol Abuse Council and the Maryland Advisory Council on Mental Hygiene.

Behavior health concerns a range of health matters, including mental health, substance use disorders, and addictive behaviors.

The Behavioral Health Advisory Council works to enhance behavioral health services statewide. It promotes policy, workforce development, and services that will ensure a system of care that is coordinated and integrates prevention, recovery, and cost-effective strategies. Further, the Council advocates for a culturally comprehensive approach to publicly funded services for prevention, early intervention, and recovery services to support individuals with behavioral health disorders and their families.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright August 22, 2019 Maryland State Archives