Roy W. Crow, Chair (chosen by Governor), 2021

[photo, Grapevines, Woodville (Frederick County), Maryland] Appointed by Governor to 3-year terms: Joseph A. Fiola, Ph.D., 2018; Jeffrey A. Kelly, 2020; Jennifer Watt Layton, 2020; Joan Cartier, Ph.D., 2021; Steven A. Connelly, 2023; Liz Fitzsimmons, 2023; Robert T. Butz, 2024.

Appointed by Senate President: Ronald N. Young

Appointed by House Speaker: Rachel R. Jones

Staff: Karen M. Fedor

c/o Marketing & Agribusiness Development, Department of Agriculture
Wayne A. Cawley, Jr. Building, 50 Harry S Truman Parkway, Annapolis, MD 21401 - 8960
(410) 841-5773

Grapevines, Woodville (Frederick County), Maryland, October 2005. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

Annual Report to Governor (Chapter 319, Acts of 2005; Code Agriculture Article, sec. 10-1201 through 10-11206).
[photo, Grapes in basket and grapepress, Dunkirk, Calvert County, Maryland] In July 2005, the Governor's Advisory Commission on Maryland Wine and Grape Growing was authorized by the General Assembly (Chapter 319, Acts of 2005).

The Commission advised the Secretary of Agriculture on the allocation of funds from the Maryland Wine and Grape Promotion Fund. Authorized in 2005 and administered by the Department of Agriculture, the Fund provides grants to nongovernmental organizations to encourage the production and consumption of Maryland wine, and the production of wine grapes in the State. Additionally, the Commission identified strategies to facilitate the growth of viticulture in Maryland.

Grapes in basket & grapepress, Dunkirk (Calvert County), Maryland. September 2005. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

Ten members constituted the Commission. Eight of these were appointed to three-year terms by the Governor. One member was named by the Senate President, and one by the House Speaker (Chapters 297 & 298, Acts of 2012; Code Agriculture Article, sec. 10-1202).

The Governor's Advisory Commission on Maryland Wine and Grape Growing ceased to function by July 2022, when the Advisory Commission on Maryland Alcohol Manufacturing was formed within the Department of Commerce by the General Assembly (Chapter 462, Acts of 2022; Code Economic Development Article, secs. 5-1901 through 5-1908).

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright September 21, 2022 Maryland State Archives