Chair (chosen by Governor): Gregg L. Hershberger, Secretary of Public Safety & Correctional Services

Appointed by Governor: Cherise Burdeen; Debra Lynn Gardner, Esq.; John Patrick Gross, Esq.; Michele J. Hughes; Tanya M. Jackson; William H. Jones, Esq.; Dorothy J. Lennig, Esq.; Mary Lou McDonough; Michael A. Millemann, Esq.; Michael A. Pristoop; David R. Rocah, Esq.; Michael Schatzow, Esq.; Scott D. Shellenberger, Esq.; Johanna Steinberg, Esq.

Appointed by Senate President: Joseph M. Getty; Victor R. Ramirez.

Appointed by House Speaker: Curtis S. Anderson; Joseph F. Vallario, Jr.

Ex officio: Tammy M. Brown, designee of Governor; Franklyn G. Musgrave, Jr., designee of Attorney General; Ben C. Clyburn, Chief Judge, District Court of Maryland; Gregg L. Hershberger, Secretary of Public Safety & Correctional Services; Maj. Woodrow W. Jones, designee of Secretary of State Police; Paul B. DeWolfe, Jr., Public Defender; David W. Weissert, Coordinator of Commissioner Activity, District Court of Maryland.

Staff: Shirleen M. Pilgrim; Claire E. Rossmark.

c/o Dept. of Legislative Services
Legislative Services Building, 90 State Circle, Annapolis, MD 21401
(410) 946-5350, (301) 970-5350

Final Report to Governor, Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee, & House Judiciary Committee due Nov. 1, 2013.

In May 2012, the Task Force to Study the Laws and Policies relating to Representation of Indigent Criminal Defendants by the Office of the Public Defender was authorized (Chapters 504 & 505, Acts of 2012).

The Task Force studied the adequacy of State laws and policies concerning the representation of indigent criminal defendants by the Office of Public Defender, and the District Court commissioner and pretrial release systems; and examine their costs. Further, the Task Force considered and recommended ways to improve the two systems and the representation of indigent defendants.

Authorization for the Task Force ended May 31, 2014.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@maryland.gov

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 14, 2022 Maryland State Archives