Walter K. Olson, Co-Chair (chosen by Governor)
Alexander Williams Jr., Co-Chair (chosen by Governor)

[photo, State House, Annapolis, Maryland] Appointed by Governor: Michael J. Goff, Ph.D.; Tessa Hill-Aston; Ashley Oleson; Carol E. Ramirez; Christopher B. Summers.

Appointed by Senate President: Joan Carter Conway

Appointed by House Speaker: Alonzo T. Washington

Appointed by Senate Minority Leader: Stephen M. Waugh

Appointed by House Minority Leader: Jason C. Buckel

State House, Annapolis, Maryland, February 2014. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

Staff: Christopher B. Shank

c/o Governor's Legislative Office
State House, 100 State Circle, Annapolis, MD 21401 - 1925
(410) 974-3336

In August 2015, the Maryland Redistricting Reform Commission was authorized by the Governor (Executive Order 01.01.2015.21). In November 2017, it was reauthorized (Executive Order 01.01.2017.28).

The Commission was charged with conducting a comprehensive examination of the State's redistricting process and recommending how to reform the process. The Commission reviewed what other states have done to establish independent, nonpartisan redistricting commissions. Further, the Commission sought comment from Maryland citizens through an electronic portal and regional summits to be held across the State. Finally, the Commission made recommendations concerning a constitutional amendment on congressional and legislative redistricting, and promote redistricting reform statewide.

On November 3, 2015, the Commission submitted its report to the Governor, Senate President, and House Speaker.

Initially, authorization for the Commission was to have ended November 8, 2017 (Executive Order 01.01.2016.14); however, on November 6, 2017, this authorization was extended to November 8, 2018, so the Commission could continue to develop its earlier recommendations and complete its work (Executive Order 01.01.2017.28).

Authorization for the Commission ended November 8, 2018.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright February 23, 2024 Maryland State Archives