C. Anthony Muse, Chair (chosen by Governor)

[photo, 100 Community Place, Crownsville, Maryland] Appointed by Governor: Gloria Brown Burnett; Donna M. Clarke; Michaele D. Cohen; Georgia Frazier; Paul G. Griffin, Esq.; Joseph T. Jones, Jr.; Lisa Nitsch; Ronald A. Nix; Asha S. Reynolds, Esq.; Jacqueline Rhone; Nicholette Smith-Bligen; Neshanna Turner; Tholyn Salarda-Gaskins Twyman; Fredia S. Wadley, M.D.; Rev. Anne Orwig Weatherholt; three vacancies. Terms expire 2017.

Appointed by Senate President: C. Anthony Muse

Appointed by House Speaker: Vanessa E. Atterbeary

100 Community Place, Crownsville, Maryland, July 2016. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

Staff: Netsanet Kibret
c/o Department of Human Resources
311 West Saratoga St., Baltimore, MD 21201 - 3521
(410) 767-6886

Staff: Donald J. Hogan
c/o Governor's Office of Crime Control & Prevention
100 Community Place, Crownsville, MD, 21032
(410) 697-9314

Final Report to Governor & General Assembly due Dec. 1, 2016 (Chapter 606, Acts of 2016).

In June 2016, the Neshante and Chloe Davis Domestic Violence Prevention Task Force was formed (Chapter 606, Acts of 2016). The Task Force is named for Neshante Davis and her daughter, Chloe, who were killed outside their home in Prince George's County on February 2, 2016.

The Task Force charge was to recommend policies to improve the ability of State and local governments, communities, families, and individuals to identify and prevent domestic violence statewide. The Task Force studied the effectiveness of current intervention strategies in domestic abuse, and considered other ways to prevent domestic violence. Further, the Task Force evaluated existing policies, procedures, and practices, including legal, behavioral health, and family support; and determined what resources would improve the delivery and effectiveness of domestic violence prevention and family support services. Methods for encouraging the community, individuals, and families to identify, report, and prevent domestic violence also were considered.

In September 2016, the Task Force submitted its preliminary report to the Governor and General Assembly.

Authorization for the Task Force ended May 31, 2017.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 14, 2022 Maryland State Archives