[photo, Student Support Services Wing, Main Building, Liberty Heights Campus, Baltimore City Community College, 2901 Liberty Heights Ave., Baltimore, Maryland] Baltimore City Community College is a two-year institution of higher education of the State of Maryland (Code Education Article, sec. 16-503). In 1947, the College originated when Baltimore Junior College was established as a two-year school to provide higher education for returning veterans of World War II.

Student Support Services Wing, Main Building, Liberty Heights Campus, Baltimore City Community College, 2901 Liberty Heights Ave., Baltimore, Maryland, 2012. Photo by William Fleming, courtesy of Baltimore City Community College.

The College reformed to become the Community College of Baltimore in 1968. As the New Community College of Baltimore, it became a State institution of higher education in 1990 (Chapter 220, Acts of 1990). The school received its present name in 1992 (Chapter 208, Acts of 1992; Code Education Article, secs. 16-501 through 16-512).

Baltimore City Community College offers 28 associate degree and 16 certificate programs. These cover arts and sciences, and general studies; business, information, and office technologies; allied health; biological, computer, and engineering sciences; human services; criminal justice and public safety; legal assistant; and teacher preparation. In addition to career and transfer programs, the College offers noncredit programs in basic adult literacy, Maryland General Education Development (G.E.D.) test preparation, English as a second language, and citizenship test preparation. The College contracts with businesses, health-care providers, and government agencies to provide credit and noncredit training in health care, child care, information technology, real estate, and business.

The College centers at three main campuses: the Liberty Heights Campus; the Harbor Campus (East Lombard St.); and the Reisterstown Campus (Reisterstown Plaza Center). It also extends to over 80 off-campus sites throughout Baltimore. Annually, the College serves more than 20,000 credit and noncredit students.


The College is governed by the Board of Trustees, which consists of nine voting members. Appointed by the Governor with Senate advice and consent, five members serve six-year terms. A student member, also appointed by the Governor, serves a one-year term (Chapter 848, Acts of 2017; Code Education Article, secs. 16-504, 16-505).

The Chair of the Board jointly is appointed by the Senate President and the House Speaker. Two members serve ex officio: the Chief Executive Officer of the Baltimore City Public Schools, and the Director of the Mayor's Office of Employment Development.


Appointed by the Board of Trustees, the President of the College is responsible and accountable to the Board of Trustees for the discipline and successful conduct of the College and supervision of each of its departments (Code Education Article, sec. 16-506).

The President directs the work of the College through five main divisions: Academic Affairs; Business and Continuing Education; Business and Finance; Institutional Advancement, Marketing and Research; and Student Affairs.

[photo, Life Sciences Building, Liberty Heights Campus, Baltimore City Community College, 2901 Liberty Heights Ave., Baltimore, Maryland]


The Academic Affairs Division originated as Academic Affairs, was renamed the Learning Division in 2003, and reformed as the Academic Affairs Division in 2005.

Life Sciences Building, Liberty Heights Campus, Baltimore City Community College, 2901 Liberty Heights Ave., Baltimore, Maryland, 2012. Photo by William Fleming, courtesy of Baltimore City Community College.

Under the Division are Academic Operations and Services, and three Schools: Arts and Social Sciences; Business, Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics; and Nursing and Health Professions.

In 2008, Academic Services formed as the Academic Support and Learning Resources Division. As Academic Services, it transferred to the Academic Affairs Division in 2012, and reformed under its present name in July 2015.

Academic Operations and Services is responsible for the Center for Academic Achievement and two units: E-Learning, and Library Services.

The School of Arts and Social Sciences was established in 2012.

In 2012, the School of Business, Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics was organized.

The School of Nursing and Health Professions started as the Nursing and Allied Health Department, and reformed as the School of Allied Health and Nursing in 2012. It reorganized under its present name in 2015.


The Business and Continuing Education Division offers adult basic education and General Education Development (GED), English as a Second Language, and alternative high school diploma programs. Courses (frequently shorter in length than credit offerings) provide adult learners with flexible class arrangements, and require fewer prerequisites.

Under the Division are four units: the Adult Basic Education and Alternative Diploma Options Program; English Language Services and Basic Skills; Operations, Budgets, and Contracts; and Workforce Development and Community Education.


The Business and Finance Division works with businesses, government agencies, and other institutions to provide training, apprenticeships, workforce development services, and other customized programs.


The Institutional Advancement, Marketing and Research Division began as the Institutional Advancement Branch. Renamed Communications and Research Division in 2008, it reformed under its present name in 2009.

Four offices are overseen by the Division: Grants Development; Institutional Research, Effectiveness, and Planning; Marketing Communications; and Media and Community Relations. The Division also is responsible for the Baltimore City Community College Foundation, Inc.


The Student Affairs Division oversees Enrollment Management, and Student Development. The Division also administers three TRIO programs: Educational Talent Search; Student Support Services and Stairs; and Upward Bound Math and Science.

TRIO Programs are a set of federally-funded competitive grant programs intended to motivate and support disadvantaged students progress toward a college degree. Originally authorized under the Higher Education Act of 1965 (P. L. 89-329), the Programs have expanded from three to eight and serve low-income individuals, first-generation college students, and individuals with disabilities from middle school through post-baccalaureate programs. The Programs commonly are referred to as TRIO after the original three.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 11, 2022 Maryland State Archives