H. Lawrence Culp, Jr., Chair (elected by Board in April, 1-year term), 2020

Appointed by Governor to 6-year terms: John G. Eckenrode, Jr., 2018; Valarie A. Sheppard, 2019; Donald C. Tomasso, 2019; Jayne T. Conroy, Esq., 2020; Deborah M. Turner, 2020; Edward P. Nordberg, Esq., 2021; Richard T. Wheeler, 2021; Lynn L. Bergeson, Esq., 2022; Thomas H. Gale, Ph.D., 2022; William J. Harvey, 2023; Regis A. de Ramel, 2023; Marc G. Bunting, 2024.

Elected by Alumni to 6-year terms: Beth K. Leaman, 2018; Ralph Synderman, M.D., 2018; Thomas C. Crouse, Jr., 2019; Geoffrey M. Rogers, 2019; Ann Dorsey Horner, 2020; John H. Timken, 2020; Stephen T. Golding, 2021; Hong Jim Lim, 2021; Richard B. Grieves, 2022; Albert J. A. Young, Esq., 2022; Norris W. Commodore, Jr., 2023; Daryl L. Swanstrom, 2023.

Elected by Board to 6-year terms: Rebecca Corbin Loree, 2018; Thomas H. Maddux, 2018; Patrick W. Allender, 2020; H. Lawrence Culp, Jr., 2020; Peter Van Dyke, Ph.D., 2021; Brandon Riker, 2022; Henry H. Sears, M.D., 2022; Richard D. Wood III, 2022; Richard L. Creighton, 2023; William C. Miller, 2023.

Ex officio: Kurt M. Landgraf, President, Washington College

c/o President's Office
Bunting Hall, Washington College, 300 Washington Ave., Chestertown, MD 21620 - 1197
(410) 778-7201; 1-800-422-1782 (toll free)
e-mail: pres_office@washcoll.edu
web: www.washcoll.edu/

Established in 1782 under the patronage of George Washington, Washington College is a coeducational liberal arts and sciences college in historic Chestertown (Chapter 8, Acts of April Session 1782). The College offers an intensely personalized education for each student. Unlike many other institutions of a similar vintage, Washington College has remained committed to the primacy of the liberal arts. The educational experience provided is linked to its waterfront setting and the rich natural and cultural resources of the Chesapeake Bay region.

The College offers 30 majors in the liberal arts and sciences and supplements its core curriculum with internships and research projects, diplomacy programs, special programs in environmental science and public affairs. The College also has a literary press, a forum for guest speakers, and lecture series bringing noted writers and other public figures to campus.

Washington College may be best known for its Sophie Kerr Prize, the largest undergraduate literary prize in the nation, awarded to the graduating senior who shows the most promise for a literary career.

The College is accredited by the Middle States Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools, and the American Chemical Society. Since 2007, the College has held a chapter of the Phi Beta Kappa Society.

Governing the College is a board of thirty-seven members named The Visitors and Governors of Washington College in the State of Maryland. The Governor appoints twelve members. Alumni of the College elect twelve additional members, and the Board of Visitors and Governors itself chooses another twelve. Elected by the Board, the final member is the College President. Members serve six-year terms (Chapter 594, Acts of 1986).

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@mdarchives.state.md.us

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright April 11, 2018 Maryland State Archives