Chair: Anthony L. Jenkins, Ph.D., President, Coppin State University

Appointed by Governor to 4-year terms: Keiffer J. Mitchell, Jr., 2026

Appointed by Senate President: Antonio L. Hayes

Appointed by House Speaker: one vacancy

Appointed by Baltimore City Mayor: one vacancy

Appointed by Baltimore City Council President: one vacancy

Representing community associations: two vacancies

Ex officio: Kenneth C. Holt, Secretary of Housing & Community Development; Gregory I. Slater, Secretary of Transportation; Colin D. Tarbert, President, Baltimore Development Corp.; Alice E. Kennedy, Baltimore City Commissioner of Housing & Community Development; D. Christopher (Chris) Ryer, Director, Baltimore City Department of Planning; Steven D. Sharkey, Director, Baltimore City Department of Transportation; Sammy Hoi, President, Maryland Institute College of Art.

c/o Office of President
Coppin State University
2500 West North Ave., Baltimore, MD 21216 - 3968
(410) 951-3838; fax: (410) 523-7351
e-mail: ajenkins@coppin.edu

Report to Governor, Senate Budget & Taxation Committee, & House Appropriations Committee on comprehensive neighborhood revitalization strategy due Oct. 1, 2023 (Chapters 80 & 81, Acts of 2021).
In October 2021, the West North Avenue Development Authority in Baltimore City was authorized by the General Assembly (Chapters 80 & 81, Acts of 2021; Code Economic Development Article, secs. 12-701 through 12-706).

The Authority is to support the development and approval of a comprehensive neighborhood revitalization plan in the West North Avenue Development Area and its buffer zone to benefit the residents, and improve housing; neighborhoods; economic development; and transportation, including motor vehicles and pedestrian foot traffic. In coordination with area residents, the Authority will develop a comprehensive neighborhood revitalization plan. By a majority vote of all Authority members, the Authority also may modify the boundaries of the target area and the buffer zone.

Appropriated funds from the City of Baltimore and the State may be managed by the Authority. Moreover, to carry out its duties, the Authority may receive donated services from accountants, lawyers, or other consultants.

Fifteen members constitute the Authority. The President of Coppin State University serves as Chair.

Authorization for the Authority ends September 30, 2026.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@mdarchives.state.md.us

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright October 01, 2021 Maryland State Archives