[photo, James E. Malone, Jr., State Delegate] JAMES E. MALONE, JR.
Democrat, District 12A, Baltimore County & Howard County

Member of House of Delegates, representing District 12A (Baltimore County & Howard County), January 11, 1995 to November 30, 2014. Resigned November 30, 2014. Vice-Chair, Environmental Matters Committee, 2003-14 (environment subcommittee, 2003-06; land use & ethics subcommittee, 2006-08; natural resources subcommittee, 2006-14; agriculture, agriculture preservation & open space subcommittee, 2008-10; local government & bi-county agencies subcommittee, 2011-14; chair, motor vehicles & transportation subcommittee, 2003-14; co-chair, motor vehicle issues work group, 2004). Member, House Emergency Medical Services Work Group, 2009-14. Member, Joint Committee on Legislative Ethics, 1995-98; Commerce and Government Matters Committee, 1995-2003 (state government & civil rights subcommittee, 1995-97; ethics & election laws subcommittee, 1998; chair, motor vehicles subcommittee, 1999-2003). Deputy Majority Whip, 1999-2002. Member, Joint Committee on Base Realignment and Closure, 2007-11; Work Group to Review Disclosure Requirements of the Public Ethics Law, 2012-13. Vice-Chair, Baltimore County Delegation, 1999-2002 (public safety subcommittee, 2005-14). Member, Maryland Bicycle and Pedestrian Caucus, 2003-14; Maryland Fire, Rescue and EMS Caucus, 2003-14; Maryland Veterans Caucus, 2006-14.

Member, Graffiti and Gang Violence Task Force, Baltimore County, 1995-97; Task Force to Study Baltimore County Community Colleges, Baltimore County, 1997-98; Task Force on Driver's Education Programs in Maryland, 1999 (chair, subcommittee on other states' driver education systems); Baltimore Region Rail System Plan Advisory Committee, 2001-02; Commission to Study the Impact of Immigrants in Maryland, 2008-12.

Director, Department of Parks and Recreation, Harford County, 2014-.

Born in Baltimore, Maryland, July 8, 1957. Attended Cardinal Gibbons High School, Baltimore, Maryland; Catonsville Community College, A.A., 1986. Development Director, Cardinal Gibbons High School, 2007-. Former Lieutenant, Baltimore County Fire Department (retired March 2007). Lifetime Member, Arbutus Volunteer Fire Department (past president - youngest in history - 1979). Honorary Lifetime Member, English Consul Junior Fire Department. Member, Arbutus Community Association; Greater Arbutus Community Alliance; Greater Elkridge Community Association; Southwest leadership Team. Member, English Consul Democratic Club, 1st District Democratic Club. Board of Directors, Lighthouse, Inc.; Our Lady of Victory School Board. Member, Sons of the American Legion; Lansdowne Wellness Cluster; Knights of Columbus; Catonsville Elks (lodge 2323). Steering Committee, Boys and Girls Club. Member at Large, Arrowhead District Committee, Boys Scouts of America. Board of Directors, Young Men's Christian Association (YMCA), 2005-. Outstanding Citizenship Award, Arbutus Lions Club, 1979. Distinguished Service Award, 1990, and Unit Citation Award, 1992, Baltimore County Fire Department. Certificate of Appreciation, Maryland Federation of Business and Professional Women's Clubs, Inc., 1998. Exceptional Humanitarian Service Award, Southwest Area Principals and All Baltimore County Educators, 1998. Outstanding Service Award, Arbutus Little League, 1999. Outstanding Individual Award, Association of Retarded Citizens of Howard County, 2000. Legislative Service Award, National Federation of the Blind, 2000. Certificates of Appreciation, Howard County Center of African-American Culture, Inc., 2001; Elkridge Volunteer Fire Department, Junior Program, 2001; Halethorpe-Relay United Methodist Church, 2001. Legislator of the Year, Maryland Investors and Security Association, 2001. Joint Certificate of Appreciation, Maryland State Police, R Adams Cowley Shock Trauma Center, Maryland Institute for Emergency Medical Services Systems, Maryland Fire and Rescue Institute, Maryland State Firemen's Association, 2001. Honorary Colonel, Fort McHenry Guard, 2001. Senator William H. Amoss Legislator of the Year Award, Maryland State Firemen's Association, 2007. Certificate of Appreciation, Maryland Municipal League, 2008, 2009, 2011. Public Supporter of the Year, Maryland Food Bank, 2014. Charles McC. Mathias, Jr. Award, House of Delegates, 2014. Two children.

House of Delegates
General Assembly
Legislative Committees
Legislative Process
Maryland Government
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 11, 2022 Maryland State Archives