[photo, Murray D. Levy, State Delegate] MURRAY D. LEVY
Democrat, District 28, Charles County

Member of House of Delegates, October 28, 2004 to January 12, 2011. Member, Appropriations Committee, 2004-11 (public safety & administration subcommittee, 2005-06; oversight committee on pensions, 2005-11; capital budget subcommittee, 2007-11; vice-chair, transportation & the environment subcommittee, 2007-11); Special Joint Committee on Pensions, 2005-11; Joint Committee on the Chesapeake and Atlantic Coastal Bays Critical Area, 2007-11; Joint Committee on the Management of Public Funds, 2007-11. Member, Environmental Matters Committee, 2004. Chair, Charles County Delegation, 2007-11. Member, Maryland Rural Caucus, 2004-11; Maryland Veterans Caucus, 2005-11; Steering Committee, Maryland Democratic Business Caucus, 2005-11.

Director of Finance, 1971-76, and Director of Public Works, 1976-80, Charles County. Member, Tri-County Council for Southern Maryland, 1986-11.

President, County Commissioners of Charles County, Maryland, 1994-2004 (member, 1986-2004). Member, Maryland Comprehensive Transit Plan Transit Advisory Panel, 1998-99; Rebuild La Plata Task Force, 2002; Task Force to Study Retiree Health-Care Funding Options, 2005; Commission to Study Southern Maryland Transportation Needs, 2006-08; Blue Ribbon Commission to Study Retiree Health-Care Funding Options, 2007-11. Past member, President's Advisory Council, Charles County Community College.

George Washington University, B.S. (accounting). Served in U.S. Army, 1967-69. Owner, Cobb Island Market, 1977-2003. Government Relations Consultant, Alexander & Cleaver, 2011-. Charles County's legislative representative to Maryland Association of Counties, 1988-2004 (chair, tax & finance subcommittee). President, Maryland Association of Counties, 1999. Chair, County Fiscal Policy Subcommittee of Taxation and Finance Steering Committee, 1999, and past member, Electric Utility Restructuring Advisory Committee, National Association of Counties. Treasurer, Charles County Chamber of Commerce (past president). Founding member, Charles County Scholarship Foundation, Inc. Board of Directors, Civista Medical Center (member, finance committee). Humane State Legislator Award, Humane Society of the United States, 2006. Marilyn J. Praisner Public Service Award, Maryland Association of Counties, 2010. Married.

House of Delegates
General Assembly
Legislative Committees
Legislative Process
Maryland Government
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 11, 2022 Maryland State Archives