[photo, George C. Edwards, Maryland State Senator] GEORGE C. EDWARDS
Republican, District 1, Allegany & Garrett Counties, & parts of Washington County

Member of Senate, January 10, 2007 to January 11, 2023. Member, Budget and Taxation Committee, 2007-23 (capital budget subcommittee, 2008-23; health, education & human resources subcommittee, 2008-10; pensions subcommittee, 2011-15; public safety, transportation & environment subcommittee, 2011-23); Executive Nominations Committee, 2011-23; Rules Committee, 2011-23. Member, Joint Subcommittee on Program Open Space and Agricultural Land Preservation, 2007-23; Spending Affordability Committee, 2011-23; Joint Committee on Gaming Oversight, 2013-23; Legislative Policy Committee, 2013-23; Joint Audit and Evaluation Committee, 2019-23. Senate Chair, Joint Committee on Legislative Ethics, 2019-23. Member, Finance Committee, 2007; Joint Audit Committee, 2007-19; Senate Committee on Reapportionment and Redistricting, 2011-12; Special Joint Committee on Pensions, 2011-18; Special Joint Commission on Public Safety and Security in State and Local Correctional Facilities, 2013; Joint Committee on the Selection of the State Treasurer, 2015, 2019. Senate Co-Chair, Protocol Committee, 2015-18. Member, State Park Investment Commission, 2021. Senate Chair, Allegany County Delegation, 2007-23; Garrett County Delegation, 2007-23. Member, National Conference of State Legislatures (environment & natural resources committee, 2005-07; agriculture, environment & energy committee, 2007-08; agriculture & energy committee, 2008-23; environment committee, 2008-23).

Member, Small Business Task Force, 2009; Marcellus Shale Safe-Drilling Initiative Advisory Commission, 2011-15. Alternate member, Work Group to Consider Gaming Expansion, 2012. Member, Local and Regional Transportation Funding Task Force, 2013; Local [Video Lottery] Development Council, Allegany County, 2015-22; Maryland Redistricting Reform Commission, 2015-18; Rural Maryland Council, 2015-23; Task Force on Rural Internet, Broadband, Wireless, and Cellular Service, 2017-19. Co-Chair, Task Force on the Economic Future of Western Maryland, 2020-22.

Member of House of Delegates, representing District 1A, Allegany and Garrett Counties, January 12, 1983 to January 10, 2007. Minority Leader, 2003-07. Member, Appropriations Committee, 1983-2007 (capital budget subcommittee, 1992-2007; health & the environment subcommittee, 1992-94; transportation & the environment subcommittee, 1995-2007; oversight committee on pensions, 1995-2007; chair, oversight committee on program open space & agricultural land preservation, 1994-2002; oversight committee on personnel, 2003-07, chair, 2003). Member, Joint Subcommittee on Program Open Space and Agricultural Land Preservation, 1991-2007 (house chair, 1991-2003). Member, Rules and Executive Nominations Committee, 1995-2007; Special Joint Committee on Pensions, 1995-2007; Joint Committee on Legislative Ethics, 2003-07; Legislative Policy Committee, 2003-07 (management subcommittee, 2003-07). Member, Special Joint Task Force on Transportation, 1995-97; Joint Committee on the Management of Public Funds, 1995-2003; Special Joint Committee on Competitive Taxation and Economic Development, 1996-97; Special Committee on School Enrollment Management, 1996-97. Deputy Minority Whip, 1996-97. Member, Special Committee on Rail Mergers, 1997; Joint Committee on the Selection of the State Treasurer, 2003; Spending Affordability Committee, 2003-07; Special Committee on State Employee Rights and Protections, 2005-07; Joint Commission on the Maryland Port Administration, 2005-07. Chair, Garrett County Delegation, 1983-2007. Chair, Western Maryland Delegation, 1995-2004. Chair, Allegany County Delegation, 1998-2007. Member, Maryland Legislative Sportsmen's Caucus, 2001-07; Maryland Rural Caucus, 2002-07; Maryland Veterans Caucus, 2005-07.

Member, Tri-County Council for Western Maryland, 1983-; Citizens Advisory Board for Brandenburg Center, 1991-2000; Maryland Advisory Commission on Manufacturing Competitiveness, 1995-98; Governor's Flood Mitigation Task Force for Western Maryland, 1996-2002; Maryland Comprehensive Transit Plan Transit Advisory Panel, 1998-99; Task Force to Study the Governance, Coordination, and Funding of the University System of Maryland, 1998-99; Western Maryland Economic Development Task Force, 1998-2002; Transit Policy Panel, 2000; State Advisory Board for Juvenile Services, 2000-05; Deep Creek Lake Policy and Review Board, 2000-07 (past member, deep creek lake advisory & review committee); Task Force to Study Public School Facilities, 2002-04; Youth Centers Advisory Board, Department of Juvenile Services, 2002-; Governor's Commission on the Structure and Efficiency of State Government, 2003 (environmental programs subcommittee); Transportation Task Force, 2003.

Member, Town Council, Town of Grantsville, 1972-74, 1980-82. Member, Board of County Commissioners, Garrett County, 1974-78.

Born in Grantsville, Maryland, April 9, 1948. Attended Northern High School, Accident, Maryland; Fairmont State College, B.S. (business administration), cum laude, 1970. Drafted by Baltimore Colts, 1970; NAIA Football All-American Fullback. Frostburg State College, teacher certification, 1971-74. Served in Maryland National Guard, 1970-76. Retail businessman. Former teacher. Member, Garrett County Development Corporation, 1974-. Member, Legislative Committee, Maryland Association of Counties, 1975-78. Delegate, Republican Party National Convention, 2004. Member, National Rifle Association; American Legion; Lonaconing Republican Club; Lions Club (president, 1982-83). Associate member, Lodge 40, Fraternal Order of Police. Legislator Recognition Award, Maryland Association of Counties, 1997, 2005. Certificate of Appreciation, Maryland Municipal League, 2008, 2009, 2011. Thomas Kennedy Award, House of Delegates, 2012. Outstanding Legislator, Rural Action Assembly, 2013. Outstanding Rural Health Legislator Award, Maryland Rural Health Association, 2013. John R. Hargreaves Distinguished Legislative Fellow Award, Institute for Public Affairs and Civic Engagement, Salisbury University, 2015. Member, St. Paul's United Methodist Church, Grantsville, Maryland. Married; two children.

House of Delegates
General Assembly
Legislative Committees
Legislative Process
Maryland Government
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright January 26, 2023 Maryland State Archives