clear space clear space clear space white space
A
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e
  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search search for:
clear space
white space
Session Laws, 1984
Volume 759, Page 3377   View pdf image
 Jump to  
  << PREVIOUS  NEXT >>
clear space clear space clear space white space

HARRY HUGHES, Governor

3377

of water, or vessels not exceeding [twenty-four] 34 feet draught,
or vessels not exceeding [seventeen] 28 feet draught; and every
person receiving [such] THE warrant and appointment shall
thereafter be reported a lawful pilot[; provided, however, that
no]. A person [shall] MAY NOT be entitled to receive a warrant as
a [first rate] pilot OF VESSELS OF ANY DRAUGHT OF WATER unless he
shall have served at least [five] 3 years [in the business of
piloting] AS A LAWFUL PILOT and shall be [eighteen] 18 years of
age[; each apprentice pilot presenting himself for the above
examination shall pay to the Board of Examiners the sum of five
dollars ($5.00), and to the register of said Board the sum of
seventy-five cents].

[5.] 4.

(A)   [No] A person [shall] MAY NOT be authorized or
permitted to be a pilot unless he shall have first received a
license from the Board of Pilot Examiners.

(B)  Every new license shall be applied for in the months of
April or May in every year and every pilot shall renew his
warrant or license biennially in the months of April or May in
each even-numbered year and [no] renewals [shall] MAY NOT be
granted at any other time or new licenses applied for, except in
the discretion of the Board of Examiners; and the Board of
Examiners may renew any license or not, as they may think proper.
A certificate of authorization shall expire on May 30 of each
even-numbered year.

(C)  Any pilot absenting himself from the business of
piloting (unless occasioned by sickness), for a term of [one] 1
year, [shall] MAY not be entitled to any warrant or license to
act as pilot thereafter, but his license shall be revoked by the
Board of Pilot Examiners. [Every first rate pilot shall pay $4,
and every second rate pilot shall pay $3, and every third rate
pilot shall pay $2 to the register of the Board of Examiners for
such renewal.]

(D)  FOR A RENEWAL, EVERY PILOT LICENSED SHALL PAY TO THE
BOARD OF EXAMINERS:

(1)  FOR VESSELS OF ANY DRAUGHT OF WATER $400;

(2)  FOR VESSELS NOT EXCEEDING 34 FEET DRAUGHT $300;
AND

(3)  FOR VESSELS NOT EXCEEDING 28 FEET DRAUGHT $200.

[6.

The Board of Pilot Examiners may increase the number of
pilots as they may deem necessary for the protection of the
commercial interests of the State. In the event an increase in
the number of lawful pilots should be deemed necessary by the
Board of Examiners of Pilots, such additional pilots shall be

 

clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Session Laws, 1984
Volume 759, Page 3377   View pdf image
 Jump to  
  << PREVIOUS  NEXT >>


This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.


Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!



An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact mdlegal@mdarchives.state.md.us.

©Copyright  October 11, 2023
Maryland State Archives