clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1996-97
Volume 187, Page 645   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

Appointed by Governor Linda Byrd, James D
Fielder, Jr , Rev Roger Gench, Jay Ladm, Eugene
R Lynch, Gerald Perez, Jerome A Wade

Staff Jay Ladm

c/ o Dept of Budget & Fiscal Planning
45 Calvert St
Annapolis, MD 21401 (410) 974 3440

The Governor's Task Force on Public Works and
Service Contract Wages was formed by the Gover
nor in May 1995 (Executive Order
01 01 1995 14) The Task Force was to study and
make recommendations to the Governor on the
wages and benefits paid by State contractors The
Task Force examined public works and service con
tractmg conducted bv State government, sun eyed
wages and benefits paid b} contractors working for
State government, and suggested affordable ways
to ensure that the workers performing these con
tracts are paid wages that adequately support them
and their families The Task Force submitted its
final report to the Governor in January 1996


Contact Ann E Peebles

c/ o Maryland Science Center
601 Light St
Baltimore, MD 21230 (410) 545 5940

The Commission last met in January 1995


Sally J Michel, Chair
In 1990, the Governor's Advisory Board on Service
and Citizenship was formed bv the Governor The
Board advised the Governor on developing na
tional service programs The Board disbanded
when the Governor's Commission on Service was
created in 1994


Co-Chair Eugene A Conn, Jr , Ph D , Secretary
of Labor, Licensing, St. Regulation
Co Chair Larry Young, State Senator

Appointed. b\ Governor (who named co-chairs)
Thomas L Bromwell, James E Callahan, Linda A
Harris, Carolyn M Hock, Catherine Hughes,
C\nthia T Lewis, Nathaniel T Oaks, John J
Oliver, Jr , Katharine M Oliver, Clarence M
Mitchell IV, Joseph I Puhalla, Thomas S Saquella,
Carl William Struever, K Donavon Waskom, Esq ,
Cheyenne R Watson

Contact Andrea E Hunt

c/ o Office of the Secretary
Dept of Labor, Licensing, & Regulation
501 St Paul Place
Baltimore, MD 21202—2272 (410)333 1448

In March 1996, the Governor formed the Cover
nor's Commission on Summer Youth Employment
(Executive Order 01 01 1996 08) The Commis
sion charge was to formulate a plan to hind jobs tor
Maryland youth during the summer of 1996 It also
was to explore creative wa) s to fund summer \ outh
employment, including joint public and private
initiatives During May 1996, the Commission
sponsored a Job a thon, radio thon, and public
service announcements on television The Corn
mission submitted a final report to the Governor
and General Assembly in Mav 1996


Chair Vacancy, Secretary of Personnel

Appointed by Governor Linda G Chiesa, Susan M

Ex officio Manta B Brown, Secretary of Budget &
Fiscal Planning, Martin P Wasserman, M D , J D ,
Secretary of Mental Health & Hygiene, Al\in C
Collms, Secretary of Human Resources, Da\id I
Wmstead, Secretary of Transportation, Nanc\ S
Grasmick, Ph D , State Superintendent of Schools,
Patricia S Florestano, Ph D , Secretary of Higher
Education, Donald N Langcnbcrg, Ph D ,
Chancellor, University of Man land System,
Donald J Slowinski, Fd D , Chair, Maryland
Council of Community College Presidents

The Governor's Interagency Training '\d\isorv
Council was created in 1994 (E\ecuti\e Order
01 01 1994 22) The Council oversaw the imple
mentation of recommendations by the Governor's
Commission on Efficiency and Fconomv for the
training of State government employees I he
Council reviewed the policies and procedures used
by State government agencies to identify training
needs, State employees' access to and use of training
resources, and the records management systems
used to track State training

The Council last met in September 1994


The Committee concluded its work in June 1995
when its functions were assumed b\ the Forest
Advisory Commission of the Department of Natu
ral Resources


John M Sine, Ph D , Chair
Raymond G LaPlaca, Esq , Vice Chair
Ann P Swanson, Vice-Chair

Appointed by Governor Tate Armstrong, Bonnie
Bick, Samuel Y Bow ling, George A Brugger, Esq ,
Stephen Carr, Kathleen A Coaklev, James D
Collect, Jr , Brian A Collms, Mary Sue C ouser, Ro\
I Dabney, Jr , James A Davis, I ee R Epstein,
Stanley Fetter, Hugh C Gardmcr III, Carohn
Graham, James E Gutman, Ench Hmtze, Robert



clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1996-97
Volume 187, Page 645   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  August 02, 2018
Maryland State Archives