clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1994-95
Volume 186, Page 672   View pdf image
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

672 /Intercounty Agencies

State University, and the Allegany County Board of
Education. In Garrett County, they include Garrett
Community College and the Garrett County Board
of Education. In Washington County, Hagerstown
Junior College and the Washington County Board
of Education are member institutions. The Univer-
sity of Maryland System also is a member. Opera-
tions and programs of the Agency are supported by
budget allocations of the member institutions and
from grants and contracts with local, State and
federal agencies.
Chief executives of the signatory members serve
ex officio as voting members of the Agency's Board
of Directors. The Board establishes policies for pro-
grams, operations, and fiscal affairs. The chair ro-
tates each July 1st.


Thomas (Mac) Middleton, Chairperson

Southern Maryland Legislative Delegation: J. Ernest
Bell II; Stephen J. Braun; C. Bernard Fowler;
George W. Owings III; James C. Simpson; John F.
Slade III; Michael J. Sprague; John F. Wood, Jr.

Calvert County Commissioners: Patrick M. Buehler;
Mary M. Krug; Hagner R. Mister; Michael J.
Moore; Joyce L. Terhes.

Charles County Commissioners: Robert I. Fuller;
Murray D. Levy; Thomas M. Middleton; Dale E.
Speake; Chriss A. Winston.

St. Mary's County Commissioners: W. Edward Bailey;
Robert T. Jarboe; John G. Lancaster; Carl M.
Loffler, Jr.; Barbara R. Thompson.

Appointed by Southern Maryland Municipal
Ruth W. Proffitt

Members at Large: F. Elliott Burch, Jr.; John T.
Parran, Jr.; John C. Smith, Jr.

Nonvoting members: Gordon Remsik, Charlotte Vass,
William E. Curtis (County Economic Development
Commissions); Joseph F. Anderson, Warren A.
Bowie, Maurice Lusby (County Planning
Commissions); Ronald M. Kreitner, Director of
Planning; James R. Gatto, Dept. of Economic &
Employment Development; Tara B. Clifford, Dept.
of Housing & Community Development; Anna
Johnson, Dept. of Natural Resources.

Gary V. Hodge, Executive Director

P. O. Box 1634
Charlotte Hall. MD 20622 (301) 884-2144
DC area: (301) 870-2520

Formed on December 6, 1964, the Tri-County
Council for Southern Maryland fosters the economic
and social development of the southern Maryland

Maryland Manual 1994-1995

counties (Calvert, Charles, and St. Mary's). In
1965, the Governor recognized the Council as the
cooperative planning and development agency for
Southern Maryland. The Council was established
by statute in 1966 and became a tax-exempt corpo-
ration in 1970 (Chapter 586, Acts of 1966; Chap-
ter 573, Acts of 1970). The Council's enabling law
was reenacted as State general legislation in 1976
(Chapter 708, Acts of 1976). In 1984, the status of
the Council as an independent agency was con-
firmed (Chapter 373, Acts of 1984).
The Council brings together local, State and fed-
eral resources to address issues in economic develop-
ment; environmental protection; and regional
resource management, which includes transportation,
utilities, urban growth and development, housing,
and public facilities and services. The Council, in 1979,
was empowered to reevaluate the General Develop-
ment Plan for Southern Maryland at least every four
years, following the election of State and local officials
(Chapter 36, Acts of 1979).
Annually, the Council submits its proposed work
programs and operating budget for the next fiscal
year to the Department of Economic and Employ-
ment Development.
The Council consists of thirty-seven members.
Twenty-seven are voting members. They include
the State senators and delegates representing Cal-
vert, Charles and St. Mary's counties; the county
commissioners from those counties; one member
appointed by the Southern Maryland Municipal
Association; and one member at large from each
county. The ten nonvoting members represent each
county planning commission and economic devel-
opment commission; the Office of Planning; the
Department of Economic and Employment Devel-
opment; the Department of Housing and Commu-
nity Development; and the Department of Natural
Resources (Code 1957, Art. 20).


Elwood L. Groves II, Chairperson

Allegany County members: Edward Athey; David
Edgerley; Bernard Loar; Leontyne Peck; John
Stotler; Karen Thayer.

Garrett County members: Elwood L. Groves II;
Stephen Herman; Tom Jones; Spencer
Schlossnagle; Richard Towers; one vacancy.

Washington County members: Leroy Burtner;
William McLean, Sr.; Fred Papa; Steven Sager;
Earl Smith; Barry Teach.

State Senators from Tri-County area: John J. Hafer;
Donald F. Munson.


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1994-95
Volume 186, Page 672   View pdf image
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives