clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1994-95
Volume 186, Page 671   View pdf image
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

Maryland Manual 1994-1995

appointing authority designates the chairperson of
the Planning Board. Chairing of the Commission
alternates each calendar year between the two plan-
ning board chairpersons. The alternate becomes
The Commission appoints the executive direc-
tor, general counsel, and secretary-treasurer. The
parks director and planning director for each county
are appointed by the planning boards (Code 1957,
Art. 28, secs. 1-101 through 8-125).


George G. Balog, Esq., Chairperson

Appointed by Governor: William T. Baker, Jr.; John
M. Brusnighan; Edward U. Graham, Ph.D.;
Frederick J. Homan. Terms expire 1996.

Ex officio: George G. Perdikakis, Director, Maryland
Environmental Service

Michael A. Gagliardo, Executive Director

25 South Charles St., Suite 2105
Baltimore. MD 21201—3330 (410) 333-2730


Annual Report to Governor & to chief executive
officer & legislative body of each participating
county due within first 90 days of fiscal year.

The Northeast Maryland Waste Disposal
Authority was established as a public corporation
in 1980 (Chapter 871, Acts of 1980). It assists
participating political subdivisions of Maryland,
other public entities, and the private sector in pro-
viding adequate waste disposal facilities by coordi-
nating efforts and finding financing. The Authority
also helps with facilities to generate energy from
fuels that are derived from or are otherwise related
to waste disposal. Participating jurisdictions are
Anne Arundel County, Baltimore City, Baltimore
County, Harford County, and Montgomery
The Authority consists of six members. From
each participating jurisdiction, one member is ap-
pointed by the Governor for a four-year term. The
Director of the Maryland Environmental Service
serves ex officio as a voting member (Code Natural
Resources Article, secs. 3-901 through 3-929).
Basically, the Authority is self-supporting, re-
ceiving minor appropriations from participating
counties, but no State funds.

Intercounty Agencies / 671



Chairperson: Donald L. Alexander, Ed.D.,
President, Allegany Community College

Ex officio: Robert E. Terrill, Ed.D., Superintendent
of Schools, Allegany County; Jerome J. Ryscavage,
Ph.D., Superintendent of Schools, Garrett County;
Wayne F. Gersen, Ed.D., Superintendent of
Schools, Washington County; Norman P. Shea,
Ph.D., President, Hagerstown Junior College;
Stephen J. Herman, Ph.D., President, Garrett
Community College; Catherine R. Gira, Ph.D.,
President, Frostburg State University; Donald N.
Langenberg, Ph.D., Chancellor, University of
Maryland System (George L. Marx, Ph.D.,

Frank C. Peto, Executive Director, Executive
Secretary-Treasurer of Board

153 Baltimore St.
Cumberland, MD 21502 (301) 777-3525
MARCOM: (301) 777-5982

The Regional Education Service Agency of Appa-
lachian Maryland (RESA) works to raise the educa-
tional level of residents in Appalachian Maryland
(Allegany, Garrett, and Washington counties). The
Agency originated in 1967 as the Educational Sub-
committee of the Appalachian Regional Commission.
A formal organization by 1970, it became a separate
administrative unit of government in 1973, author-
ized by statute and by the Attorney General's approval
of a joint agreement by the eight member institutions
(Chapter 533, Acts of 1973).
The Agency fosters cooperation among educa-
tional institutions and organizations and establishes
goals, policies, and procedures for regional educa-
tion projects, which it plans, coordinates, and im-
plements. It also promotes the improvement of
educational, scientific, and literary facilities and pro-
grams at and among participating schools.
The Agency helps member institutions identify
needs that could be met by regional programs or
services. Agency staff provides direct support and
leadership for interagency and institutional liaison,
project development and implementation, and pro-
ject review and evaluation.
The Agency also provides technical assistance
and recommendations to the Governor concerning
education's role in the development of the region.
These recommendations are the basis for education
programs funded by the Appalachian Regional
Commission through the Department of Housing
and Community Development.
In Allegany County, member institutions in-
clude Allegany Community College, Frostburg


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1994-95
Volume 186, Page 671   View pdf image
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives