clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1994-95
Volume 186, Page 670   View pdf image
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

670 /Intercounty Agencies

Appointed by Wicomico County Council: Betty K.
Gardner; Jim Jackson; Virginia Sillers.

Appointed by Worcester County Board of County
David Bryant; Mark Lusby; Shirley
W. Pilchard.

Oceanfront at 13th St., Boardwalk
Ocean City, MD 21842 (410) 289-9121

The Maryland Lower Eastern Shore Tourism
Center Advisory Committee was created in 1984
(Chapter 716, Acts of 1984). The Committee ad-
vises the Department of Economic and Employ-
ment Development on the development and
operations of the Maryland Lower Eastern Shore
Tourism Center. Located on U.S. 13 North, the
Center opened in December 1985.
The Committee consists of nine members. The
Somerset County and Worcester County Boards of
County Commissioners and the Wicomico County
Council each appoint three members from their
respective counties. Members serve five-year terms
(Code 1957, Art. 83A, sec. 4-201).


Chairperson: John W. Rhoads, Prince George's County
Vice-Chairperson: William Hussman, Montgomery

Montgomery County Planning Board: Nancy M.
Floreen, 1994; Patricia S. Baptiste, 1995; Davis M.
Richardson, 1995; Ruthann Aron, 1996; William
Hussman, 1997.

Prince George's County Planning Board: Zola E.
Boone, 1994; Roy I. Dabney, 1995; Regina J.
McNeill, 1995; James M. Brown, 1996; John W.
Rhoads, 1997.

Ex officio: Fern V. Piret, Prince George's County
Planning Director; Robert W. Marriott,
Montgomery County Planning Director; Mary H.
Godfrey, Prince George's County Parks &
Recreation Director; Donald K. Cochran,
Montgomery County Parks Director.

LeRoy J. Hedgepeth, Executive Director

6611 Kenilworth Ave., Suite 402
Riverdale, MD 20737 (301) 454-1740

Montgomery Regional Office
8787 Georgia Ave.
Silver Spring, MD 20910 (301) 495-4605

County Administration Building
Prince George's County
14741 Governor Oden Bowie Drive
Upper Marlboro, MD 20772 (301) 952-3560

Maryland Manual 1994-1995


Certified Annual Financial Report to be made
available for distribution to public.

Created in 1927, the Maryland-National Capital
Park and Planning Commission has jurisdiction
over parks and planning in Montgomery and Prince
George's counties (Chapter 448, Acts of 1927).
This authority covers all of the two counties except
for certain incorporated municipalities.
Within the Maryland-Washington Metropolitan
District, the Commission is empowered to acquire,
develop, maintain, and operate parks systems. In all
areas except Laurel, the Commission may spend
public funds to acquire parkland. Subject to county
government approval, it also may sell general obli-
gation bonds to fund park acquisition and develop-
ment. All other expenses, including debt service, are
paid from a separate park tax levied within the
District. Since 1970, the Commission also has op-
erated the Prince George's County recreation pro-
gram, funded by a separate countywide recreation
tax. The Commission provides services and educa-
tional programs relating to conservation and na-
ture, recreation classes, local history, and the arts.
Informational brochures and publications are avail-
able upon request.
Taking into account all factors of urban, subur-
ban, rural and regional planning, the Commission
prepares and administers a General Plan for the
physical development of the Maryland-Washington
Regional District. The District includes all of Prince
George's County (except Laurel) and all of
Montgomery County (except Rockville, Gaithers-
burg, and several small municipalities). For the
portion of the District within their county, each
planning board makes zoning recommendations to
its county council. To enact zoning ordinances and
change the zoning map, the planning boards have
exclusive responsibility for subdivision approval,
location and grades of streets, location of public
buildings and utilities, and street naming and house
numbering. Administration and operating expenses
of the Commission are financed by property taxes
levied by the two counties.
The Commission is composed of ten members.
Five are residents of Montgomery County, and five
are from Prince George's. The five members from
each county make up the county's planning board.
Commission members serve four-year terms. In
Montgomery County, three members are appointed
by the County Council and confirmed by the
County Executive, and two members are appointed
by the County Executive and confirmed by the
County Council. In Prince George's County, the
County Executive appoints all five members subject
to County Council confirmation. No more than
three members from each county's planning board
may be members of the same political party The


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1994-95
Volume 186, Page 670   View pdf image
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives