clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1994-95
Volume 186, Page 587   View pdf image
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

Maryland Manual 1994-1995

State agencies involved with geographic infor-
mation systems (GIS) began to meet informally in
July 1992. These included the more established
users and managers of geographic information sys-
tems from the Department of Natural Resources;
the Office of Planning; the State Highway Admini-
stration of the Department of Transportation; the
Department of Housing and Community Develop-
ment; the Department of the Environment; and the
State Archives. The Maryland State Government
Geographic Information Coordinating Committee
was organized formally by the Governor in January
The Committee provides a formal mechanism
for users and managers of geographic information
systems to address issues, such as spatial data stand-
ards, data sharing, documentation, and mainte-
nance. The Committee recognizes the need for
compatibility and transferability of spatial data be-
tween systems that can be achieved only by the
cooperation of users of geographic information sys-
tems as they design or modify their data collection
programs. To avoid duplication of effort, the Com-
mitte also seeks to integrate disparate spatial data
sets for display or analysis.


Chairperson: O. James Lighthizer, Secretary of
Vice-Chairperson: Edward T. McMahon, Esq., 1994

Appointed by Governor (who names chair): Ralph E.
Grossi. Term expires 1993.

Gus B. Bauman; Jeffrey A. Bourne; James H.
Gilford, Ph.D.; Paula C. Hollinger; W. Ray Huff;
Joyce M. Kelly; Douglas E. Moore; Jane T.
Nishida, Esq.; Stephen C. Thienel; Stephen F.
Wood. Terms expire 1994.

Charles B. Adams; Henry S. Baker, Jr.; Daniel B.
Brewster; David G. Burwell; Beverly B. Byron;
James F. Clark, Jr.; Robert E. Dulli; James W.
Gracie; William J. Howard; Wayne A. Klockner;
Hans F. Mayer; Joseph J. McCann; Sally J. Michel;
Grace Rymer. Terms expire 1995.

Ex officio: Torrey C. Brown, M.D., Secretary of
Natural Resources; Ronald M. Kreitner, Director
of Planning.

Teresa A. Moore, Executive Director

c/o Greenways & Resource Planning
Dept. of Natural Resources
Tawes State Office Building, D-3
580 Taylor Ave.
Annapolis, MD 21401 (410) 974-3589

Executive Commissions / 587

The Governor created the Maryland Greenways
Commission in March 1990. The Commission is to
analyze the feasibility of integrating a new system
of interconnecting recreational trails and wildlife
corridors to the existing framework of protective
buffers along Maryland's waterways. These green-
ways would be corridors of open space that follow
streams, ridgetops, rivers, or other linear features
for recreation and conservation purposes.
Maryland has the framework in place for a green-
ways network. The Chesapeake and Ohio (C&O)
Canal, the Appalachian Trail, Patapsco Valley State
Park, and the lower Pocomoke River are all green-
ways. Trail systems like the Northern Central Rail-
road Trail and Anne Arundel County's Baltimore
and Annapolis (B&A) Trail are recreational green-
way connectors. Greenways can be publicly owned
to provide recreation opportunities or privately
owned to provide wildlife habitat and water quality
The Commission has developed a blueprint for a
network of greenways in urban and rural areas
throughout the State. The Commission also is imple-
menting a model project along the Patapsco River.
In June 1990, the Commission submitted a pre-
liminary report of findings and recommendations to
the Governor. In December 1992, the Commission
published Maryland Greenways Atlas, which shows pro-
tected lands and greenway corridors in each county.
Appointed by the Governor, the Commission
consists of up to thirty members who represent
State and local government, conservation and com-
munity groups, and business. Members serve two-
year terms. The Commission is assisted by a local
liaison from each county and Baltimore City.


Gerard H. Schlimm, Ph.D., Chairperson

Appointed by Governor. William J. Brown; James E.
Gutman; Mitchell A. Kapland; Harold D. Palmer,
Ph.D.; two vacancies.

c/o Dept. of Civil Engineering
Latrobe Hall, Room 108
The Johns Hopkins University
Baltimore, MD 21218—2699 (410) 516-7828

The Governor appointed the Hart-Miller Advi-
sory Board in 1981. The Board monitors the con-
struction of the Hart-Miller Spoils Area Dike and
advises the Governor of any problems in construc-
tion or operation.


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1994-95
Volume 186, Page 587   View pdf image
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives