clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1991-92
Volume 185, Page 571   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

Culvert County Commissioners: Patrick M. Buehler;
Mary Krug; Hagner R. Mister; Michael J. Moore;
Joyce L. Terhes.

Charles County Commissioners: Robert I. Fuller;
Murray D. Levy; Thomas M. Middlcton; Nancy J.
Sefton; Dale E. Speakc.

St. Mary's County Commissioners: W. Edward Bailey;
Robert T. Jarboe; John G. Lancaster; Carl M.
Loffler, Jr.; Barbara R. Thompson.

Appointed by Southern Maryland Municipal
Association: Warren A. Bowie

Members at Large: F. EUiott Burch, Jr.; John T.
Parran, Jr.; John Whisman.

Nonpoting members: Matthew Gambrill, Wesley E.
Hughes, Jr., William E. Curtis (County Economic
Development Commissions); Edward M.
Blanchard, Maurice Lusby, Harry (Lanny)
Lancaster, Jr., (County Planning Commissions);
Ronald M. Kreitncr, Office of Planning; Richard
W. Davis, Dept. of Housing & Community

Gary V. Hodge, Executive Director

PO. Box 1634
Charlotte Hall, MD 20622 884-2144
DC area: 870-2520

The Tri-County Council for Southern Maryland
was formed on December 6,1964, as a cooperative
planning and development agency to foster the
economic and social development of the Southern
Maryland region comprising Calvert, Charles and
St. Mary's counties.
In 1965, the Governor recognized the Council
as the cooperative planning and development agen-
cy for Southern Maryland. The Council was estab-
lished by statute in 1966 (Chapter 586, Acts of
1966) and became a tax-exempt corporation in
1970 (Chapter 573, Acts of 1970). The Council's
enabling law was reenacted as State general legisla-
tion in 1976 (Chapter 708, Acts of 1976). In 1984,
the status of the Council as an independent agency
was confirmed (Chapter 373, Acts of 1984).
The Council brings together local. State and
federal resources to attain regional goals and ad-
dress areawidc issues. The Council is active in four
program areas: economic development; tourism
promotion; environmental protection; and
regional resource management, which includes is-
sues related to transportation, utilities, urban
growth and development, housing, and public
facilities and services. The Council, in 1979, was
empowered to recvaluate the General Develop-
ment Plan for Southern Maryland at least every four
years, following the election of State and local
officials (Chapter 36, Acts of 1979).

Intercounty Agendes/571

The Council has helped shape State policies and
programs to restore the Eatuxent River, and it also
cooperated with the Maryland Heritage Commit-
tee in the coordination and promotion of Mary-
land's 350th anniversary in 1984.
Annually the Council submits its proposed work
programs and operating budget for the following
fiscal year to the Department of Housing and Com-
munity Development.
The Council consists of thirty-five members.
Twenty-seven are voting members. They include
the State senators and members of the House of
Delegates representing Calvert, Charles and St.
Mary's counties; the county commissioners from
those counties; one member appointed by the
Southern Maryland Municipal Association; and
one member at large from each Southern Maryland
county The eight nonvoting members represent
each county planning commission and county
economic development commission of the
Southern Maryland counties; the Office of Plan-
ning; and the Department of Housing and Com-
munity Development (Code 1957, Art. 20).


Ernest J. Gregg, Jr., Chairperson

Allegany County members: David Edgerley; Bernard
Loar; Harry Stern; John Stotler; two vacancies.

Garrett County members: Elwood L. Groves II;
Stephen Herman; Tom Jones; Walter Younkin;
one vacancy.

Washington County members: Leroy Burtner;
William McLean, Sr.; Fred Papa; Gary Rohrer;
Steven Sager; one vacancy.

State Senators from Tri-County area: John J. Hater;
Donald F. Munson.

House of Delegates members representing Allegany,
Garrett and Washington counties: Peter G. Callas;
George C. Edwards; Kevin Kelly; D. Bruce Poole;
Casper R. Taylor, Jr.; Betty Workman.

Michael J. Wagoner, Director

72 Pershing St.
Cumberland, MD 21502 777-2158

Functions of the Tri-County Council for
Western Maryland originated with the formation of
the Governor's Council for Appalachian Maryland
in 1968. The Governor's Council was replaced in
1971, when the Tri-County Council for Western
Maryland was chartered as a nonprofit corporation
to serve Maryland's western counties of AUegany
Garrett, and Washington. Formerly under the
Department of Economic and Community


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1991-92
Volume 185, Page 571   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives