clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1991-92
Volume 185, Page 570   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

570/Maryland Manual


Annual Report to Governor and to chief executive
officer 6rlegislative body of each participating
county due within first 90 days of fiscal year.

The Northeast Maryland Waste Disposal
Authority was established as a public corporation in
1980 (Chapter 871, Acts of 1980). It assists par-
ticipating political subdivisions of Maryland, other
public entities, and the private sector in providing
adequate waste disposal facilities by coordinating ef-
forts and finding financing. The Authority also helps
with facilities to generate energy from fuels that are
derived from or are otherwise related to waste dis-
posal. Participating jurisdictions are Anne Arundel
County Baltimore City Baltimore County Harford
County and Montgomery County
The Authority consists of six members. From each
participating jurisdiction one member is appointed by
the Governor for a four-year term. The director of the
Maryland Environmental Service serves as an ex officio
voting member (Code Natural Resources Article,
sees. 3-901 through 3-929).
The Authority has published several informative
brochures and issues a quarterly newsletter.



Chairperson: Wayne Gersen, Superintendent of
Schools, Washington County

Ex officio: Harold J. Winstanley, Superintendent of
Schools, Allegany County; Jerome J. Ryscavage,
Superintendent of Schools, Garrett County;
Donald L. Alexander, President, Allcgany
Community College; Norman P. Shea, President,
Hagerstown Junior College; Stephen J. Herman,
President, Garrett Community College; Harold
Dclaney, Interim President, Frostburg State
University; Donald N. Langenbcrg, Chancellor,
University of Maryland System (George Marx,

Frank C. Pcto, Executive Director, Executive
Secretary-Treasurer of the Board

153 Baltimore St.
Cumberland, MD 21502 777-3525
MARCOM: 777-5982

The Regional Education Service Agency of Ap-
palachian Maryland (RESA) works to raise the
educational level of all people in Appalachian
Maryland (Allegany, Garrett, and Washington
counties). In this way they may develop socially
culturally and economically Member institutions
include Allegany Community College, Brostburg
State University Allegany County Board ofEduca-

tion, Hagerstown Junior College, Washington
County Board of Education, Garrett Community
College, Garrett County Board of Education, and
the University of Maryland System.
The Agency originated in 1967 as the Educa-
tional Subcommittee of the Appalachian Regional
Commission. A formal organization with office and
staff by 1970, it became a separate administrative
unit of government in 1973. The Agency was
created by Chapter 533, Acts of 1973, and by the
Attorney General's approval of a joint agreement by
the eight member institutions.
The chief executives of the signatory members
to the joint agreement comprise the ex officio
voting membership of the Board of Directors. The
Board establishes policies for programs, operations,
and fiscal affairs.
RESA fosters cooperation among all educational
institutions and organizations concerned with the
needs of the people in the region. The Agency estab-
lishes goals, policies, and procedures for regional
education projects, which it plans, coordinates, and
implements. It also promotes Ac improvement of
educational, scientific, and literary facilities and
programs at and among participating schools.
The Agency provides technical assistance and
recommendations to the Governor concerning
plans and programs directed toward education's
role in the development of the region. These recom-
mendations are the basis for education programs
funded by the Appalachian Rcgiunal Commission
through the Department of Housing and Com-
munity Development.
The Agency helps member institutions identify
needs that could be met by regional programs or
services. Based on Board policy the staff provides
direct support and Leadership for intcragency/in-
stirutional liaison, project development and im-
plementation, and project review and evaluation.
Operations and programs of the Agency are
supported by budget allocations of the member
institutions and from grants and contracts with
local. State, and federal agencies, such as the Ap-
palachian Regional Commission.
The Agency is described in two publications:
What's a RESA? and Appalachian Afaryland—A
Great Place to Learn, A Great Place to Live. Both are
available upon request.


Thomas (Mac) Middlcton, Chairperson

Southern Maryland Legislative Delegation: J. Ernest
Bell II; Stephen J. Braun; C. Bernard Fowler;
George W. Owings III; James C. Simpson; John F.
Sladc III; Michael J. Sprague; John F. Wood, Jr.


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1991-92
Volume 185, Page 570   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives