clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1991-92
Volume 185, Page 483   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space


Gary Owens, Ph.D., Chairperson

Appointed by Governor: Thomas E. Arthur; Melissa
L. Bcrge; Irvin N. Caplan; Claire E. Funkhouser;
Milton M. Harris; Ronald R. Holden; Stephen S.
Kramer; Alexander I. Lewis III; Steven S.
Sharfstein, M.D.; James C. Turner; Randall D. Van
Dolson; Marian S. Vessels.

Staff: Scott M.Uhl

c/o Office of the Secretary
Dept. of Health & Mental Hygiene
201 W Preston St.
Baltimore, MD 21201 225-6541

In December 1990, the Governor formed the
Governor's Task Force on Long-Term Financial
Planning for Disabled Individuals.
The Task Force is to determine how the State can
assist families in their long-term financial planning
for family members who are disabled. The Task
Force will consider what mechanisms and programs
are needed to assist in this financial planning and
how such programs can be made accessible to
families. The Task Force also will consider what
changes in law and regulation may be needed to
help families in their long-term financial planning.
The Task Force submitted an initial report on
February 1,1991.


Les Kinion, Chairperson

Appointed by Governor: Marilyn Bevans; Joseph J.
Chiapparelli; Robert Davidson; Robert
DeMarino; William Diegel; Robert Feldman;
Henry C. Freeman; Robert Hall; Ernie Imhoff;
Scott Lucrey; Terry McCracken; Fredye Murpliy;
Michael Pierre; Robert Ray; Eddy Rayford; Frank
Satorelli; Jerry Smolinski; Bill Williams.

EO. Box 11394
Baltimore, MD 21239 882-5455

The Maryland Marathon Planning Committee
originally was created by the Governor in 1972 to
plan the first Maryland Marathon for 1973. Ap-
pointed by the Governor, the Committee now plans
and manages each Maryland Marathon.
The Maryland Marathon is a long-distance race
for runners over a course 26 miles, 385 yards long.
Iris held annually in Baltimore. Normally, the event
is scheduled for the last Sunday of November or the
first Sunday of December.

Executive Commissions/483


Chairperson: Winfield M. Kelly, Jr., Secretary of

Appointed by Governor: Curtis S. Anderson; Walter
M. Baker; Brig. Gen. Edmund G. Beacham;
Thomas E. Bratten, Jr.; George W. Davis; Brig.
Gen. Bernard Feingold; Lt. Col. Howard S.
Freedlander; Maj. Gen. James F. Fretterd; J.
Rodney Little; Marian L. Patterson; Calvin E.
Patton; Richard W. Phoebus, Sr.; Orlando Ridout
V; Thomas J. Rosckowski; Ida G. Ruben; Richard
J. Santos; Brig. Gen. Philip Sherman; Brig. Gen.
Ernest M. Snyder; John C. Sprague; Gregory A.
Stiverson, Ph.D.; Casper R. Taylor, Jr.

c/o Office of the Secretary of State
State House
Annapolis, MD 21401 974-5521

The Governor's Commission on Maryland
Military Monuments was established by the Gover-
nor in January 1989 (Executive Order
01.01.1989.02). The Commission is conducting an
inventory of Maryland military monuments. Each
monument will be identified by name, date of con-
struction, location and means of access, and original
sponsorship. The current ownership of both the
monument and monument land will be noted as
will a complete description, including construction
materials, condition, theme, and inscriptions, if any,
and who is responsible for maintenance.
The Commission will determine the cost of res-
toration for each monument in need of repair and
secure funds for that restoration. In addition, the
Commission is to assign responsibility for the main-
tenance of each monument and prepare educational
and tourism materials for public distribution.
Appointed by the Governor, the Commission con-
sists of up to twenty-one members. The Secretary of
Stare serves as chairperson.


Chairperson: 0. James Lighthizer, Secretary of

Appointed by Governor: Rita Bontz; Donald M.
Bowman; Harvey Clearwater; Anthony DelTIsola;
George H. Harman; Cape. John Himmelmann;
Maj. Richard Janney; Claude M. Ligon; Kenneth
L. Pierson; D. Bruce Poole; Arthur E. Price; Ty
Pruitt; W. Marshall Rickert; William A.
Rohrbaugh; Ida G. Ruben; Walter Thompson;
George W. Woods; Thomas M. Yeager.


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1991-92
Volume 185, Page 483   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives