clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1991-92
Volume 185, Page 438   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

438/Maryland Manual

Theodore I. Weintraub, Chairperson, 1994

Appointed by Governor (who also designates chair) with
Senate advice & consent: Eugene L. Bidun, 1991;
Thomas E. Polen, 1991; Stan Stovall, 1991; Chades
J. Kruft, 1992; RobertH. Shimer, 1992; Capt. James
T. Almony, 1993; Capt. Roy L. Chiavacd, 1993;
James W. Hancock ffl, 1993; Thomas Lee Oliver,
1994; Patrida W. Tanner, 1994.

Marilyn E. Farndon, Secretary
Vacancy, Coordinator

6776 Reisterstown Rd., Suite 310
Baltimore, MD 21215-2341 764-4009

The Emergency Number Systems Board was
created in 1979 (Chapter 730, Acts of 1979).
The Board coordinates installation and enhance-
ment of county 911 systems, which are emergen-
cy telephone number services. A "911 system"
automatically connects a person dialing the digits
9-1-1 on a telephone to a public safety answering
point from which police, fire, ambulance or other
public safety services may be dispatched on a
24-hour basis. Since July 1, 1985, all counties
and Baltimore City have had a "911 system"
The Board issues guidelines for county 911
system plans and determines review procedures
to approve or disapprove these plans. The Board
sets criteria for reimbursing counties from the
original 911 Trust Fund and from ongoing funds
and provides for audit of Trust Fund accounts.
All 911 related information and procedures are
transmitted by the Board to the county executive
and county council, or to the president of the
board of county commissioners of each county,
and/or their designated 911 committee repre-
sentative. Annually, the Board provides the
Secretary of Public Safety and Correctional Ser-
vices with an installation schedule and funding
requirements estimate.
The Board's eleven members are appointed to
four-year terms by the Governor with Senate advice
and consent. One member represents a telephone
utility company operating in Maryland. One mem-
ber each represents the Maryland Institute for
Emergency Medical Services, the Maryland State
Police, the Maryland Public Service Commission,
and the Association of Public Safety Communica-
tions Officers. Of two members representing coun-
ty fire services in Maryland, one represents career
fire services and the other volunteer fire services.
One member represents police services, one repre-
sents emergency management services, and two
represent the public. The Governor designates the
chairperson (Code 1957, Arc. 41, sees. 18-101
through 18-108).

Donald A. Westcott, Chairperson, 1993

Appointed by Governor with Senate advice & consent:
Elmer E. Horsey, 1992; H. Theodore Prantum,
Jr., 1993; Rev. Mervin C. Gray, 1993; H. John
Lobe, 1994.

6776 Reisterstown Rd., Suite 312
Baltimore, MD 21215-2341 764-4070

The Handgun Permit Review Board was created
in 1972 (Chapter 13, Acts of 1972).
Any person whose application for a handgun per-
mit or renewal of a permit has been rejected or whose
permit has been revoked or limited may ask the Board
to review the decision of the Superintendent of the
Maryland Scare Police. The Board can either sustain,
reverse, or modify the decision of the Superintendent,
or conduct a hearing to establish the facts.
From the general public, the Governor appoints
the Board's five members with Senate advice and
consent. Members serve three-year terms (Code
1957, Art. 27, sec. 36E).

Marvin N. Robbins, Executive Director

6776 Reiscerstown Rd., Suite 302
Baltimore, MD 21215 764-4257

The Inmate Grievance Office originated as the
Inmate Grievance Commission in 1971 to adjudi-
cate inmate grievances and complaints (Chapter
210, Acts of 1971). The Commission was reor-
ganized under its present name in 1991 (House Bill
1214, Acts of 1991),
Any person confined to an institution within the
Division of Correction, or otherwise in the custody
of the Commissioner of Correction, or confined to
Patuxent Institution may submit any grievance or
complaint against any official or employee of the
Division of Correction or Paruxent Institution to
the Inmate Grievance Office.
The Secretary of Public Safety and Correctional
Services with the approval of the Governor, ap-
points the Executive Director (Code 1957, Art. 41,
sec. 4-102.1).

Chairperson: ]. Basil Wisner, designee of
Comptroller of the Treasury

Ex officio: Charles F. Berry, designee of Secretary of
Budget & Fiscal Planning; Marvin N. Robbins,
designee of Secretary of Public Safety &
Correctional Services.

Marvin N, Robbins, Secretary

6776 Reisterstown Rd., Suite 302
Baltimore, MD 21215 764-4257


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1991-92
Volume 185, Page 438   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives