clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1989-90
Volume 184, Page 502   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

502/Maryland Manual

The Commission conducts research and estab-
lishes regulations to reduce the volume of low-level
radioactive waste. The Commission also prepares
contingency plans in the event the regional facility
is closed; collects fees from party states until the
regional facility becomes available; and enters into
temporary agreements for emergency disposal.

The Commission provides for its own organiza-
tion and procedures, by-laws, rules, and regulations
(Code Environment Article, secs. 7-301 through


Chairperson: Robert A. Jones, Connecticut

Maryland representatives: Dr. Paul O. Massicot,
Administrator, Tidewater Administration; William S.
Home, House of Delegates; Albert F. Goetze,
Governor's appointee, 1989.

Irwin M. Alperin, Executive Director

1400 16th St., N.W.
Washington, DC 20036 (202) 387-5330

The Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commis-
sion is an outgrowth of the Eastern Conservation
Conference begun in 1937. Seven states, including
Maryland, drew up and ratified a compact in 1941
(Chapter 435, Acts of 1941). This compact, as-
sented to by the U.S. Congress and signed by the
President in 1942, is the legal basis of the Atlantic
States Marine Fisheries Commission.

The Commission advises federal and state agen-
cies on developing joint programs for particular
species of fish or bodies of water common to two
or more states. These programs may lead to uniform
laws or varying but coordinated measures. Each
participating state contributes to the support of the
Commission in proportion to the value of its marine
fisheries catch as compared with the total Atlantic

The Commission issues annual reports and min-
utes of meetings. All are on file with the Depart-
ment of Natural Resources. The Commission also
publishes and distributes several other fisheries-re-
lated reports, as well as fishery management plans
for Atlantic coast species, which are available from
the Commission office.

The Commission has a membership of fifteen
Atlantic seaboard states. Each state is represented
by three commissioners. One commissioner repre-
sents the state agency charged with conservation of
fisheries resources, one is a legislator, and one is
selected by the governor for a three-year term
(Code Natural Resources Article, secs. 4-301
through 4-305).


Chairperson: James E. McClellan,Maryland
Vice-Chairperson: Kenneth J. Cole, Pennsylvania

Maryland members: Torrey C. Brown, Secretary of
Natural Resources; Jack F. Witten, citizen member;
Bernie Fowler, Gerald W. Winegrad, State Senate;
Ronald A. Guns, Michael H. Weir, House of

Ann Pesiri Swanson, Executive Director

60 West St., Suite 200A
Annapolis, MD 21401 263-3420

Originally founded on a bi-state agreement be-
tween Maryland and Virginia, the Chesapeake Bay
Commission was created in 1980 (Chapter 674,
Acts of 1980). Its formation stemmed from recom-
mendations of the Chesapeake Bay Legislative Ad-
visory Commission on the need for improved
interstate coordination of Bay-wide management.
In 1985, Pennsylvania became a member of the

The Commission helps the legislatures of Mary-
land, Virginia, and Pennsylvania evaluate and re-
spond to problems of mutual concern relating to
Chesapeake Bay. It encourages coordinated re-
source planning and action by the three member
states and their agencies. Through recommenda-
tions to the respective legislatures, the Commission
also provides, where appropriate, uniformity of leg-
islative application.

The Commission publishes an annual report,
occasional issue papers, and an annual legislative
progress report that summarizes Bay-related legis-
lative concerns of the member states. These publi-
cations are available upon request.

The Commission consists of twenty-one mem-
bers, seven from each of the signatory states. Five
members from each state are state legislators. Of the
five Maryland legislative members, two are senators
designated by the Senate President and three are
delegates designated by the Speaker of the House
of Delegates. The Governor or designee serves as a
member. Another member, who is neither a legisla-
tor nor a member of the Executive branch, is jointly
selected by the Senate President and the House
Speaker. Legislative members serve terms cotermi-
nous with their current terms of office. Nonlegisla-
tive members serve at the pleasure of their
respective appointing authorities, but no longer
than four years unless reappointed. The chairperson
and vice-chairperson are selected by the members,
with each position alternating annually among the
delegations from the three states (Code Natural
Resources Article, secs. 8-302 through 8-304).

clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1989-90
Volume 184, Page 502   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives