clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1989-90
Volume 184, Page 442   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

442/Matyland Manual


Chairperson: Vacancy, Director of'Planning
Vice-Chairperson: David Harmon

Appointed by Governor: Sarah Galloway;
Geraldine Highto; Sally C. Millemann; Alfreda
Pinkney. Terms expire 1990.

Ex oflficio: Rosalie S. Abrams, Director on Aging;
Ruth Massinga, Secretary of Human Resources; Adele
Wilzack, Secretary of Health & Mental Hygiene.

c/o Office of Planning
301 W Preston St.
Baltimore, MD 21201 225-4530

Annual Report to Governor & General Assembly due
Dec. 1.

The Domiciliary Care Facilities Board was cre-
ated by the Governor at the request of the General
Assembly in 1984 (Joint Resolution no. 23, Acts of
1984). In 1986, the Board was established by law
(Chapter 726, Acts of 1986).

The Board formulates and implements policy
and coordinates agency responsibility for imple-
menting policy and programs related to domiciliary
care. The Board also reviews and approves policies
and regulations that govern domiciliary care facili-
ties and related programs.

Chaired by the Director of Planning, the Board
has nine members. Five are appointed to four-year
terms by the Governor and include a Maryland
Disability Law Center representative, a domiciliary
care facility provider, and three consumers. Four
serve ex officio (Code 1957, Art. 41, sec. 10-601).



Chairperson: J. Michael McWilliams, 1988

Appointed by Governor with Senate advice &
consent: Jerry Lymas, 1988; Donald L. DeVries,
Sr., 1988; Sister Kathleen Feeley, 1988; Ronald L.
Bowers, 1990; Kenneth H. Michael, 1990;
Edmond F. Rovner, 1990; three vacancies.

Ex officio: J. Randall Evans, Secretary of Economic &
Employment Development; Richard H. Trainor,
Secretary of Transportation.

Hans F. Mayer, Executive Director

36 S. Charles St.
Baltimore, MD 21201 625-0051

Created in 1984, the Maryland Economic De-
velopment Corporation is a public instrumentality
of the State (Chapter 498, Acts of 1984). The

Corporation enables the State to develop property
for economic purposes. To serve the public interest,
the Corporation develops vacant or unused indus-
trial sites and facilities and other economic resources
in which the private sector has shown no significant
interest or development capability

The Corporation operates in economically dis-
tressed areas of the State. It assists State and local
economic development agencies in their efforts to
expand, modernize, and retain businesses, as well as
to attract new ones.

The Board of Directors is appointed by the
Governor with Senate advice and consent. It con-
sists of twelve members, including two ex officio
voting members. Members serve four-year terms.
With the Governor's approval, the Board appoints
the Executive Director (Code 1957, Art. 83A, secs.
5-101 through 5-116).


Chairperson: Vacancy

Representing Maryland Higher Education
Commission: not yet appointed

Representing State Board of Education: Herbert
L. Fishpaw; Priscilla Hilliard; Frederick K.
Schoenbrodt; Lawrence A. Shulman.

Ex officio: Joseph L. Shilling, State Superintendent
of Schools; Shaila R. Aery, Secretary of Higher

c/o Maryland Higher Education Commission
16 Francis St.
Annapolis, MD 21401 974-2971

c/o State Board of Education
200 W Baltimore St.
Baltimore, MD 21201 333-2000

The Education Coordinating Committee was
created in 1976 (Chapter 538, Acts of 1976). The
Committee coordinates the policies and activities of
the State Board of Education, the State Superinten-
dent of Schools, the Maryland Higher Education
Commission, and the Secretary of Higher Educa-
tion. The Committee studies and makes recommen-
dations regarding educational policies that concern
or affect elementary secondary or higher education.

The Committee is comprised of eight members:
three members of the State Board of Education
selected by its president; three members of the
Maryland Higher Education Commission selected
by the Commission's chairperson; the State Super-
intendent of Schools; and the Secretary of Higher
Education (Code Education Article, secs. 24-101
through 24-105).

clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1989-90
Volume 184, Page 442   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives