clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1989-90
Volume 184, Page 443   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space


Chairperson: James W. Johnson, Jr.

Appointed by Governor with Senate advice &
consent: Margarette E. Crowder; Solomon N.
Hoke; Barbara B. Kendall; Peggy Rae Pavlat.
Terms expire 1991.

Gene M. Raynor, State Administrator of Election
Laws, 1993

Marvin L. Meyn, Deputy Administrator

EQ Box 231
11 Bladen St.
Annapolis, MD 21404 974-3711
TDD for Deaf: 1-800-492-5062

Budget (Code 23.09.01)
FY1989 Total Appropriation..............$1,491,711
General Funds.....................................$1,490,711
Special Funds.......................................$ 1,000
FY1989 Total Authorized Positions...............15.9

Annual Report to General Assembly with recommenda-
tions fir changes in the Election Code to assure its
uniform administration and to improve procedures.



Gene M. Raynor (ap^Med by Governor)


Marvin L. Meyn, Deputy Administrator

Dyan Mamock, Coordinator......974-3711

Rebecca M. Babinec, Director.........974-3711

Created in 1969, the State Administrative Board
of Election Laws supervises the conduct of voter
registration and elections in the State (Chapter 555,
Acts of 1969). The Board adopts rules and regula-
tions to help local boards of supervisors of elections
with elections, voting, and voter registration. The
Board reviews, approves, certifies, and decertifies
voting systems and adopts regulations relating to
them. The Board administers the Fair Election Prac-
tices Act, which regulates the financing of cam-
paigns for State and county offices. In addition, the
Board serves as a depository for election records and
other relevant election information.

The law mandates additional duties for the
Board. In odd-numbered years, the Board convenes
a meeting with all members of boards of supervisors
of elections of the counties and Baltimore City to

Independent Agencies/443

instruct them, their designated employees, and
counsel on their duties in the conduct of elections.
The Board also administers the voter registration-
by-mail program.

Not prescribed by law but necessary to the
Board's work are the review and monitoring of all
election bills, constitutional amendments, and re-
lated referenda. Staff assistance is available to mem-
bers of the General Assembly for consultation on
election-related legislation. Local boards are ad-
vised of legislative hearing schedules and the status
of pertinent bills.

The State Board publishes Registration and Elec-
tion Laws of Mary land 1988, which is for sale to the
public. The Board also has available primary and
general election returns beginning with 1948. More
recent returns are published in booklet form.

The State Board consists of five members ap-
pointed to four-year terms by the Governor with
Senate advice and consent. Three members must be
of the same political party as the Governor, while
two members represent the party that received the
second greatest number of votes in the most recent
gubernatorial election.

The Governor appoints the State Administrator
of Election Laws for a six-year term. The State
Administrator receives and audits financial reports
of candidates required under the Election Code.
The State Administrator also serves as Secretary to
the Board of State Canvassers (Code 1957, Art. 33,
secs. 1A-1, 3-l(c), 16B-2,18-1).


Louis L. Goldstein, Comptroller of the Treasury

Appointed by Governor: Frank P. Casula; Jack
Daly; Harvey W. May, Jr.; William J. O'Byrne, Jr.;
Susan P. Tippett; one vacancy. Terms expire 1990.

Exofficio: Charles L. Benton, Jr., Secretary of Budget
& Fiscal Planning; Ruth Massinga, Secretary of
Human Resources; Ardath Cade, designee of Secretary
of Natural Resources; Elizabeth K. Moser, designee of
Secretary of Transportation.

Ex officio (nonvoting): Laurence Levitan, Chair-
person, Senate Budget & Taxation Committee;
Clarence W. Blount, Chairperson, Senate Economic
& Environmental Affairs Committee; Charles J.
Ryan, Chairperson, House Appropriations Committee;
John S. Arnick, Chairperson, House Environmental
Matters Committee.

Howard C. FitzGerald, Executive Secretary

clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1989-90
Volume 184, Page 443   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  August 01, 2018
Maryland State Archives