clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1989-90
Volume 184, Page 409   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

annually update the plan for the Governor, the
General Assembly, and the public. The plan pro-
vides for a central information center on drug and
alcohol abuse where data is collected, stored, ana-
lyzed, and distributed to federal, State and local
government agencies. The plan also indicates how
best to formulate policy to prevent and control
illegal drug activities and drug and alcohol abuse.

The Commission compiles an inventory of avail-
able drug and alcohol abuse services, both public
and private.

On a continuing basis, the Commission consults
with representatives of local governments and the
private sector to assure that State, local and private
resources are effectively used in preparation of the
comprehensive plan. Regional and county core
groups help coordinate efforts. Each group consists
of the local superintendent of schools, local health
officer, and local chief of police or sheriff.

The Commission consults with the Maryland
Juvenile Justice Advisory Council; Governor's Ad-
visory Board for Justice Assistance; Drug and Alco-
hol Abuse Prevention and Education Program
Advisory Council of the State Department of Edu-
cation; Governor's Executive Advisory Council;
and State Advisory Council on Drug and Alcohol

The Commission is comprised of eighteen mem-
bers. Nine serve ex officio. Four public members are
appointed by the Governor. Two members of the
State Senate are appointed by the Senate President
and two House of Delegates members are ap-
pointed by the House Speaker. The Governor des-
ignates the chairperson and vice-chairperson. The
Governor also appoints the Executive Director of
the Commission, who is assisted by at least one
member of each department and agency whose
head serves on the Commission.


Chairperson: David M. Roth, Ph.D.

Catherine A. Albright; Arnold E. Andersen, M.D.;
F. Vernon Boozer; Dorothy A. Dobbyn; Joyce
Kronthal; Karen B. Lanpher, Ph.D.; Carol
Loomis; Mary S. Pabst; Brenda A. Sigall, Ph.D.

c/o Sheppard-Pratt Hospital
6501 N. Charles St.
Towson, MD 21204 823-8200, ext. 4219

At the request of the General Assembly, the
Governor created the Task Force on Eating Disor-
ders in October 1986 (Joint Resolution no. 27,
Acts of 1986). The Task Force will determine to
what extent Marylanders suffer from such eating

Executive Commissions/409

disorders as anorexia nervosa and bulimia. The Task
Force is considering also how these disorders might
be recognized and treated.

By February 1989, the Task Force will report its


Dennis F. Rasmussen, Baltimore County Executive

Philip C. Jimeno; Dr. Elizabeth Koopman; Virginia
Middleton O'Rourke; Sandra J. Skolnik; Rosalie
Streett; Valerie von Allmen.

Nonvoting members: Rosalie S. Abrams; Diane
Daffin; Eric M. Fine, M.D.; Dr. Nardindar Kelly;
Karen Nettler.

Office of Baltimore County Executive
100 Court House
400 Washington Ave.
Towson, MD 21204 494-2450

At the request of the General Assembly, the
Governor created the Commission on the Family in
November 1986 (Joint Resolution no. 2, Acts of
1986). The Commission is studying how State
government affects the family The Commission will
consider how the State can better support and
strengthen the family

Annually, the Commission reports its findings
and recommendations to the Governor and Gen-
eral Assembly. The Commission's final report is due
July 1989.


Chairperson: Bart Thomas

Dr. Russell Faust, State Dept. of Education; Jeffrey
E. Odin,D^. of Health &MentalHyjiene; Richard
H. Turk, Dept. of Transportation; Capt. Paul T.
Twigg, Maryland State Police.

Dept. of Transportation
EO. Box 8755
BWI Airport, MD 21240 859-7321

The Governor originally appointed the State
Fleet Safety Committee in 1971 to establish a safety
program for State employees who drive State and
private motor vehicles on official State business.
The Governor reauthorized the Committee in 1985
(Executive Order 01.01.1985.21).

The Committee advises the Governor on the
safe operation and maintenance of the State's motor
vehicle fleet. This advisory role includes recom-
mending changes in rules and regulations for use of
State agency motor vehicles. The Committee also

clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1989-90
Volume 184, Page 409   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  August 01, 2018
Maryland State Archives