clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1989-90
Volume 184, Page 408   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

408/Maryland Manual

The Committee consists of nine data profession-
als within State service. One member is appointed
from each of the following agencies: ComptroLLer
of the Treasury; Department of Budget and Fiscal
Planning (whose representative serves as chairper-
son); Department of Public Safety and Correc-
tional Services; Maryland Higher Education
Commission; Department of Transportation; and
University of Maryland System. Three members are
appointed by the Governor upon recommendation
of the chairperson. Any agency security officer as-
signed to the Committee may not participate in any
computer system security analysis of that officer's
own agency by the Committee.



Chairperson: Bonnie Milstein, 1989

Louise T. Breedon, 1989; Carol J. Lawson, 1989;
Susan P. Leviton, 1989; Peg Sullivan, 1989; Edwin
B. Brager, 1990; J. Patrick McCurdy III, 1990;
Gertrude E. Nolan, 1990; JoAnne Asparagus,
1991; one vacancy.

Steven Ney, Executive Director

2510 St. Paul St.
Baltimore, MD 21218 333-7600
TTY for Deaf: 235-4227

The Maryland Disability Law Center originated
as the Maryland Advocacy Unit for the Develop-
mentally Disabled which was created in 1977 by the
Governor (Executive Order 01.01.1977.07). Es-
tablished in accordance with federal statute (PL.
94-103), the Advocacy Unit became the State's
official agency designated to protect and advocate
the rights of the developmentally disabled in Mary-
land. The designation qualified the Unit for federal
funding under the Developmental Disabilities As-
sistance and Bill of Rights Act (PL. 95-603). By
that funding, attorneys represent developmentally
disabled persons with legal problems in areas such
as abuse and neglect, discrimination, special educa-
tion, and public benefit entitlements.

In 1984, the Board of Directors renamed the
Advocacy Unit as the Maryland Disability Law
Center. This name change reflected a change in
function: the office no longer represented only the
developmentally disabled, those whose disability
becomes evident before age 22. Instead, the Center
had become a statewide legal services program for
persons disabled by impairments such as cerebral
pals$ mental retardation, learning disabilities, men-
tal illness, and deafness.

The Center is funded by a number of sources
besides its federal "protection and advocacy" grant.

The Maryland Legal Services Corporation finan-
cially aids the Center to represent indigent disabled
persons throughout the State in noncriminal mat-
ters. The Department of Human Resources funds
the Center's representation of handicapped chil-
dren whose parents or relatives fail to provide
proper care and attention. The Department of
Human Resources also funds the Center to repre-
sent disabled adults who are at risk of being placed
in an institution.

Since 1984, the Center has received financial
support from the Department of Health and Men-
tal Hygiene to represent residents in State mental
health facilities. The Department also funds the
Center to protect mentally retarded persons from
abuse and neglect and to represent disabled adults
who are denied Social Security benefits. In addition,
the Center receives funds from the State Depart-
ment of Education to represent disabled persons
who are dissatisfied with vocational rehabilitation

A nonprofit private corporation, the Center is
governed by a nine-member Board of Directors.
The Governor appoints the Board's members to
three-year terms.


Chairperson: Robert R. Neall
Appointed by Governor: three vacancies

Ex officio: J. Joseph Curran, Jr., Attorney General;
RuthMassinga, Secretary of Human Resources; Adele
Wilzack, Secretary of Health & Mental Hygiene;
Torrey C. Brown, M.D., Secretary of Natural
Resources; Hilda E. Ford, Secretary of Personnel;
Bishop L. Robinson, Secretary of Public Safety &
Correctional Services; Richard H. Trainor, Secretary
of Transportation; Joseph L. Shilling, State
Superintendent of Schools; Linda D'Amario Rossi,
Director, Juvenile Services Agency.

Appointed by Senate President: not yet appointed

Appointed by House Speaker: Kenneth C.
Montague, Jr.; Ethel Murray.

c/o Governor's Office of Justice Assistance
6776 Reisterstown Rd., Suite 301
Baltimore, MD 21215 764-4336

The Governor created the Governor's Drug and
Alcohol Abuse Commission in February 1989
within the Executive Office of the Governor (Exec-
utive Order 01.01.1989.04). By September 30,
1989, the Commission is to submit to the Governor
a comprehensive and integrated plan for reducing
illegal drug-related activities and drug and alcohol
abuse in Maryland. Thereafter, the Commission will

clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1989-90
Volume 184, Page 408   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives