clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1987-88
Volume 183, Page 621   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space


County Seat: Easton 21601

Origin: The form of the creation of this county
though not known was probably by virtue of an
order of the Governor in Council. The County
was in existence by February 18, 1661/62,
when a writ was issued to the sheriff.

Name: Named after Grace Talbot, sister of
Cecilius Calvert, Second Lord Baltimore.

Form of Government: Charter (1973)

County Code: See Charter and Code of Public
Local Laws of Talbot County, Maryland
with supplements.

Area: 326.32 sq. miles (258.62 land, 67.70 water)

Population. 1900: 30,342; 1950: 19,428; 1960:
21,578; 1970: 23,682; 1980: 25,604.

Principal Incorporated Places (1980 census):
Easton (7,536), St. Michaels (1,301), Oxford
(754), Trappe (739)

Voter Registration, Oct. 6, 1986. Democrat:
8,212; Republican: 5,563; Other Parties: 0; No
Party Affiliation: 873; Total: 14,648.

Per Capita Income, 1985 (estimated): $13,305
State Forests: Seth Demonstration (125 acres)
State Parks: Wye Oak (29 acres)

Museums/Historical Societies: Historical Society
of Talbot County, Inc., P.O. Box 964, Easton
21601; Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum, St.
Michael's 21663

Talbot County/621

North Washington St.
Easton 21601 Circuit Court: 822-2611
District Court: 822-2750

Court Terms:

Circuit Court—Grand Jury and Petit Jury, last
Monday in February and September.

Orphans' Court Days — Tuesdays, 11:00 a.m. -
12:00 noon, 2:00 - 3:30 p.m.

Circuit Court Resident Judge
John C. North II, 1999

Circuit Court Clerk
Mary Ann Shortall, 1990

District Court Judge
William H. Adkins III, 1994
Grace Achuff, Administrative Clerk; Jacqueline
Nash, Clerk.

Orphans' Court Judges
E. Frank Connolly, Chief Judge; Herman F.
Mieike; James E. Thomas. Terms expire 1990.

Register of Wills
Alice W. Anderson, 1990

John J. Ellerbusch, 1990

State's Attorney
Phillip C. Foster, 1990

District Public Defender
C. Daniel Saunders


County Council
Easton 21601 Telephone: 822-2401

Meeting Days: Tuesdays, 1:30 p.m.

Herbert L. Andrew III, President.......... 1990
Clinton S. Bradley III.................... 1990
Nancy J. Clem .......................... 1990
Carlton N. Callahan ..................... 1990
Thomas G. Duncan ...................... 1990
Mary C. Foster, Clerk


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1987-88
Volume 183, Page 621   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives