clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1985-86
Volume 182, Page 573   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

County Appeals Board
James E. Warner, Chairperson, 1986; Paul L.
Shortall, Sr., 1985; Edzel L. Turner, 1985;
Douglas G. Phillips, 1986; Mildred Parrott,
1987; Phillip E. Councell, alternate, 1985.

Historic District Commission
Vacancy, Chairperson

Agricultural Preservation Advisory Board
Allen Baynard, Chairperson

District Forestry Board
John E. Brodie; Sidney H. Dickson; William
B. Ewing; Earl J. Hutchison. Terms expire

Public Works Advisory Board
Vacancy, Chairperson

Public Works Director

Roads Supervisor
Willson H. Tull, Sr.

Plumbing Inspector
Howard Walker

Electrical Examiners Board
Oliver Marshall, Chairperson


Airport Authority
William H. Corkran, Jr., Chairperson

Alcoholic Beverages

Liquor Control Board
W. Francis Callahan, Chairperson, 1987;
Mrs. Earl M. Clague, 1985; James L. Daf-
fin, 1989.

Tidewater Affairs

Oystermen's Tongers Advisory Committee
Richard A. Layman, Chairperson; Robert C.
Haddaway; Robert R. Hambleton; Richard
Lednum, Sr.; Earl Buddy Wharton.

Oystermen's Dredgers Advisory Committee
Wade Murphy, Chairperson

Extension and Soil Conservation Services

Extension Agents
Jean A. Greene, County Director; Barbara E.
Jeffries; Donald E. Osbum; K. Marc Tef-

Washington County/573

Soil Conservation District Supervisors
Donald Bridges (County appointee). Chair-
person; William Beaven, 1985; Norman J.
Fike, 1986; William E. Sharp, Jr., 1988;
Allen Baynard, 1989; Donald E. Osbum,
Extension Agent, Secretary (non-voting). Paul
M. Petrichenko, District Conservationist.


County Seat: Hagerstown 21740

Origin: The county was created from Frederick
County by resolve of the Constitutional
Convention of 1776.

Name: Named for George Washington.
Form of Government: County Commissioners

County Code: See Code of the Public Local Laws of
Washington County (1984).

Area: 467.07 sq. miles (454.97 land, 12.10 water)

Population. 1900: 45,133; 1950: 78,886; 1960:
91,219; 1970: 103,829; 1980: 113,086.

Principal Incorporated Places (1980 census):
Hagerstown (34,132), Boonsboro (1,908),
Hancock (1,887), Williamsport (1,867)

Principal Unincorporated Places (1980 census):
Halfway (8,639), Bridgeport (3,626), Cascade-
Highfield (3,050)

Voter Registration, Oct. 8, 1984. Democrat:
29,256; Republican: 20,972; Other Parties: 31;
Decline to Affiliate: 3,377; Total: 53,636.

Per Capita Income (1980): $7,706
State Forests: Green Ridge (31,347 acres)

State Parks: Fort Frederick (561 acres), Fort
Tonoloway (26 acres), Gathland (135 acres),
Greenbrier (1,274), Washington Monument (126

Colleges/Universities: Hagerstown Business
College, Hagerstown; Hagerstown Junior
College, Hagerstown

Museums/Historical Societies: Washington
County Museum of Fine Arts, City Park,
Hagerstown 21740; Washington County
Historical Society, P. 0. Box 1281, Hagerstown


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1985-86
Volume 182, Page 573   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  August 02, 2018
Maryland State Archives