clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1985-86
Volume 182, Page 557   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

Department of Facilities and Services
Thomas S. Abraham, Director

Montgomery County Planning Board
Norman L. Christeller, Chairperson, 1985;
Mable Granke, 1986; Judith B. Heimann,
1987; Betty Ann Krahnke, 1987; Richard M.
Keeney, 1988; Richard E. Tustian, Planning

Board of Appeals
Doris Lipschitz, Chairperson, 1988; Howard
Jenkins, Jr, 1985; Harry M. Leet, 1985;
Thomas S. Israel, 1987; Joseph O'Brien,

Zoning Hearing Examiners
Philip Tiemey, Administrative Hearing Exam-
iner; Martin Klauber.

Revenue Authority
Jeffrey 0. Zeilmer, Chairperson; Lee W.
Swartz, Executive Director.

Office of Economic Development
loanna Morfessis, Director

Department of Housing and Community
Richard J. Ferrara, Director
Division of Landlord-Tenant Affairs
Nikki McCausland, Chief

Housing Opportunities Commission
Maik Winston, Chairperson; Bernard L.
Tetreault, Executive Director.

Agricultural Preservation Advisory Board
Harrison King, Chairperson

District Forestry Board
Greydon S. Tolson, Chairperson; George H.
Butler, Jr.; Charles H. Cissel; Joseph
Howard; Francis N. Johnston; Carl E.

Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission
Jesse L. Maury, 1987; Leonard H. Teitelb-
aum, 1987; Robert P. Will, 1988.


Department of Transportation
Robert S. McGarry, Director

Washington Suburban Transit Commission
Cleatus E. Bamett; Carlton R. Sickles.

Prince George's County/5 57

Inspection and Licensing

Board of Electrical Examiners
Loren Goodman, Chairperson

Board of License Commissioners
Marilyn C. Frazier, Chairperson, 1985; Her-
shel Burrus, 1986; E]wood L. Bland, 1987;
Marion P. Gamache, 1987; Sue Ann Mahaf-
fey, 1988.

Alcoholic Beverages

Department of Liquor Control
Thomas W. Schmidt, Director

Extension and Soil Conservation Services

Extension Agents
Richard D. Wootton, County Director; Ana
Gilbert, Stanton A. Gill; Richard F. Hefle-
bower, Mary Ann Hewitt; Susan K. Morris;
Ruth Proctor; Robert D. Raver; Marian B.
Sutton; Carolyn Travers; Douglas Tregoning;
Kendra Wells; Madeleine Greene Wojcie-

Soil Conservation District Supervisors
Michael DeChant, Chairperson, 1985; John
A. Phillips, 1986; Wiley Griffith, 1987;
George E. Lechlider, 1989; Chester M.
Leishear (County appointee); Douglas Tre-
goning, Extension Agent, Secretary (non-vot-
ing). Richard R. Brush, District Conservation-
ist; Marshall Rea, District Manager.


County Seat: Upper Marlboro 20772

Origin: Erected from Calvert and Charles counties
by Chapter 13, Acts of 1695 (May Session).

Name: Named for Prince George of Denmark,
husband of Queen Anne.

Form of Government: Charter (1970)

County Code: See The Code of Prince George's
County, Maryland (1979).

Area: 499.21 sq. miles (487.01 land, 12.20 water)

Population. 1900: 29,898; 1950: 194,182; 1960:
357,395; 1970: 661,719; 1980: 665,071.

Principal Incorporated Places (1980 census):
Bowie (33,695), College Park (23,614),
Greenbelt (17,332)


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1985-86
Volume 182, Page 557   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives