clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1985-86
Volume 182, Page 233   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

The Council was originally created as the Noise
Pollution Control Advisory Council by Chapter
709, Acts of 1973, and renamed the Environmental
Noise Advisory Council by Chapter 287, Acts of
1974. It advises the Department on proposed
environmental noise standards and sound level

The Council consists of five members appointed
by the Secretary of Health and Mental Hygiene for
five-years terms. One member is appointed from a
list of three names submitted by the Acoustical
Society of America. One member must be a
physician, specializing in hearing, appointed from
a list of at least three names submitted by the
Medical and Chirurgical Faculty of Maryland. The
third member is appointed from a list of three
names submitted by the president of the University
of Maryland. Two members are appointed by the
Secretary from suggestions made by the Maryland
State Chamber of Commerce, the Maryland Trans-
portation Federation, the Maryland Environmen-
tal Trust, and such other environmental groups as
he may select (Code Health-Environmental Arti-
cle, secs. 3-201 through 3-205).


Chairperson: Nancy H. Hill, 1987

David H. Shriver, 1985; Gary L. Smith, 1985;
Dennis J. Brady, 1986; Thomas P. Broumel,
1986; John D. Seyffert, 1986; Sanford M.
Shapiro, 1986; Gary R. Fuhrman, 1987; Dr.
Thomas G. Mitchell, 1987; Dr. Curtis M. Snow,
1987; Marsha G. Perry, 1988; Dr. David H.
Rosenblatt, 1988; Raymond E. Lloyd, Jr., 1990.

201 W. Preston St.
Baltimore 21201 Telephone: 383-3123

The Controlled Hazardous Substance Advisory
Council was created by Chapter 618, Acts of 1976,
to advise the State in matters relating to the
management of designated hazardous substances.
Chapter 550, Acts of 1981, expanded Council
responsibilities to include advising and assisting in
the development of rules and regulations on low-
level nuclear waste disposal (Code Health-
Environmental Article, secs. 7-211 through

Appointed by the Governor, the Council consists
of thirteen members who serve six-year terms. Ten
members are appointed with the advice of the
Secretary of Health and Mental Hygiene, and three
public members are selected with the advice and
consent of the Senate.

Health and Mental Hygiene/233


Chairperson: Marvin Comblath, M.D., 1985

Susan R. Panny, M.D., 1985; Reed E. Pyeritz,
M.D., 1985; Robert L. Dennis, 1986; Ann Gore
Spencer, 1986; Anne C. Zehner, 1987; Joan Y.
Case, 1988; Mary R. Larson, 1988; one vacancy.

Legislative Members: Troy Brailey, Slain Senate,
1987; Samuel I. "Sandy" Rosenberg, House of
Delegates. 1987.

Ex officio: William B. Landis; Annelies S.
Zachary, M.D.; J. M. Joseph, M.D.; Margaret
Needham, Neil A. Holtzman, M.D.

Cynthia DeLeaver-Coates, Executive Director

201 W. Preston St.
Baltimore 21201 Telephone: 383-7035

The State Commission on Hereditary Disorders
was created by Chapter 695, Acts of 1973. The
Commission aids in the gathering and the dissemi-
nation of information on the treatment of heredi-
tary disorders in the State. It also establishes and
promulgates rules, regulations, and standards for
the detection and management of hereditary disor-
ders. On a continuous basis, it evaluates the need
for and efficiency of State programs on hereditary
disorders. The Commission also institutes and
supervises educational programs and counseling on
hereditary disorders, its treatment and prevention,
for the public and providers of health services.

The Commission evaluates the entire hereditary
disease program annually and reports its evalua-
tion and recommendations to the Governor.

The Commission is composed of eleven members
appointed for four-year terms. One member is a
senator appointed by the president of the Senate,
and one is a delegate appointed by the speaker of
the House of Delegates. The Governor appoints
five members who are not health professionals or
involved in the administration or ownership of any
health care institution or health insurance organi-
zation, or the spouse of a health professional,
administrator, or owner. Four members are li-
censed medical physicians knowledgeable in the
diagnosis and treatment of hereditary disorders
who are appointed from a list of three names
submitted by the Monumental Medical Society of
Baltimore, the Medical and Chirurgical Faculty of
Maryland, the faculty of the University of Mary-
land School of Medicine, and the faculty of The
Johns Hopkins University Medical Institutions. If


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1985-86
Volume 182, Page 233   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  August 02, 2018
Maryland State Archives